Drivers Ed in Michigan
Completion of a Michigan Drivers Ed course is suggested and often required prior to obtaining your learner's permit, and ultimately receiving your Driver's License. Although not approved for the state of Michigan, I Drive Safely is a good course to prepare yourself for your state's licensing exam.
Michigan has a history of demanding driver training for its teens. In 1955, it became the first state to mandate a program and to legislate that it be taught in all public schools.
In 1996, it became the first state to legislate a Graduated Driver License program. The program consists of three licensing levels and two components of driver education developed to help young drivers make a smooth transition onto the state's roads.
You can start driver education as soon as you turn 14 years and eight months old.
In Segment 1 of your driver education, you'll be introduced to the basics of driving with 24 hours of classroom instruction and another six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
You'll probably spend some of your classroom time watching instructional movies and discussing different driving situations with your teacher. You'll learn about vehicle safety, Michigan's driver laws, how to avoid dangerous situations, and even some basic map reading.
You'll be required to pass a 100-question multiple-choice test to complete the course.
Your road time will be spent on the basics, too, and may include up to three hours of driving on closed courses.
After you successfully complete Segment 1, you'll receive a certificate from your driving instructor that you'll need to take to a local branch office of the Secretary of State to get your Level 1 Learner's License.
To apply for a Level 1 Learner's License, you must be at least 14 years and nine months old. Bring your Segment 1 certificate, proof of identity, and a parent or guardian along to sign for you.
This is your step up to the big time, and it's a pretty simple one―just six hours of classroom instruction.
Before you qualify to take it, however, you need to complete at least 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, including two hours of driving at night.
Once you've completed Segment 2 and have a total of 50 hours of driving experience, you can take a road skills test. The Secretary of State has posted a handy study guide for this test online, as well as a road skills testing organization locator. Assuming you pass the test, you'll be eligible for a Level 2 License.
Once again, a trip to the local branch office of the Secretary of State is required. This time, you'll need to be at least 16 and have your road skills certificate, proof that you've had your Level 1 License for at least 180 days, and a logbook showing your 50-plus hours of driving experience (including 10 hours at night).
You'll have your picture taken and be given your Level 2 License, which allows you to drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 a.m. and midnight. (If you have a job that requires you to drive between midnight and 5 a.m., you'll be allowed to drive as long as you have proof that you are traveling directly to or from work.)
The fee for your Level 2 License is $25. Once you hold a Level 2 License for six months and turn 17, with your parents' permission you can graduate to a full, restriction-free license―the Level 3.
Since all three license levels require parental consent if the applicant is under 18, parents should know their responsibilities as well. To that end, the Secretary of State has created a guide for parents to help you know what you're getting your kids (and yourself!) into.Local Drivers Education
Choose a County
- Grand Traverse
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.