Disability Plates and Placards in MichiganPage Overview
- Types of Michigan Disability Permits
- Apply for a MI Disability Placard or Plate
- Renew Your Michigan Disability Permit
- Replace Your Disability License Plate/Placard
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/18/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!
Read below for more information about disability placards and plates in Michigan, including how to apply for these permits from the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS).
A Michigan disability placard or license plate allows you to park in handicapped parking spots.
The MI SOS offers several types of disability placards and plates:
- Temporary disability placard.
- Permanent disability placard.
- Permanent disability license plate.
- Yellow sticker for parking meter fee exemptions.
A medical professional must certify your disability before you can receive a disabled parking permit.
To qualify for the yellow sticker for free parking, you must have:
- A valid driver's license.
- A qualifying disability, such as:
- Lack of fine motor control.
- Inability to reach a parking meter because of a mobility device.
- Inability to walk more than 20 feet.
MI Visitors with Disabilities
If you are traveling from out of state, you do not need to get a local placard, as Michigan will recognize out-of-state disability placards and license plates.
You can apply for a Michigan disability license plate or placard:
- By mail.
- In person.
You must submit:
- The appropriate application:
- Medical certification (completed ON the application).
- Applicable fees:
- Permanent placard: Free.
- Temporary placard: Free.
- Disability license plate: Standard registration fees.
NOTE: Vans for wheelchair users may be eligible for a 50% registration fee discount. Contact the SOS at (888) 767-6424 (SOS-MICH) for more information.
To apply for the parking fee exemption (yellow sticker), complete the appropriate section on the application.
You can turn in your application:
- By mail to the address on the form.
- In person at your local Michigan SOS office.
Permanent placards are valid for 4 years and expire on your birthday. You can renew your disability placard:
- No more than 45 days before it expires.
- No more than 6 months early if you'll be outside of Michigan when it expires.
Disability placard renewal is free, and you DO NOT need a new medical certification. Contact the MI SOS at (888) 767-6424 (SOS-MICH) for renewal methods.
Temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months based on your doctor's certification. You CANNOT renew a temporary disability placard, but you can apply for a new one once your current placard expires.
See “ Apply for a MI Placard or Plate" above for more information.
Disability license plates expire on your birthday. To renew your plate, you must renew your vehicle registration.
If your placard has been lost or stolen, you must go in person to your local Michigan SOS office with:
- Identification, such as your driver's license or MI ID.
- The replacement fee:
- Permanent placard: $10.
- Temporary placard: $10.
For information about replacing a license plate that has been lost, stolen, or damaged, see our Michigan lost registration page.Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section