Lemon Law in Michigan
Michigan's Lemon Law offers consumers protection from being stuck with a defective vehicle, whether they've purchased it or leased it.
Is My Vehicle a Lemon?
The Michigan Lemon Law applies to:
- Passenger vehicles that are privately owned.
- Vehicles leased after January 1, 2000 operated for personal use. Some vehicles used for business may also be covered.
In Michigan, a lemon is defined as a defective vehicle that:
- Has had an ongoing issue that has not been successfully repaired after 4 attempts.
- Has been out of service at least 30 days due to repairs.
You must report the issue within 1 year from the date of delivery of the vehicle or during the manufacturer's warranty term, whichever comes first.
Filing a Lemon Law Claim in Michigan
You'll have a good chance to successfully use the Lemon Law if you make sure you've documented the issues you have.
Once the vehicle you purchased is determined to be defective, you may be entitled to a:
- Replacement vehicle
- Refund of the purchase price (or cost of the lease).
In order to get a replacement or refund, you must report the defect in writing to the manufacturer and you may be required to go through arbitration to solve the dispute.
Hiring a MI Lemon Law Attorney
An experienced lemon law attorney will prepare your case to go up against the automobile manufacturer.
Due to the costs they incur, manufacturers are very resistant to having their cars determined to be lemons and may go to great lengths to prevent it from happening.
Having the assistance of an attorney experienced in lemon law will give you leverage to compel the manufacturer to comply with lemon laws.
Tips for Hiring a Lemon Lawyer in Michigan
When you search for an attorney for your lemon law case, be sure to ask about his:
- Lemon law expertise.
- Case track record.
- Fee policy.