Suspended CDL in Maine
Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Maine
If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) was disqualified or suspended by the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements to have it reinstated.
Your CDL may be disqualified for violations committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles. Disqualifying violations include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Reckless driving and excessive speeding.
- Violating out-of-service orders.
- Driving without the proper endorsements.
- Driving a commercial vehicle without your CDL in your possession.
On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.
The duration of your CDL suspension and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges are also suspended.
NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime for your violation, you may face court penalties and fines in addition to your Maine BMV disqualification.
The Maine BMV will mail you a suspension/disqualification notice when your CDL is suspended or pending suspension.
For specific information about your suspended license, refer to your suspension notice or contact the Maine BMV at (207) 624-9000.
Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:
- 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
- DUI or drug-related offenses.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- Hit and runs and leaving the scene of a truck accident.
- Using your commercial vehicle to commit a felony.
- 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense, while transporting hazardous materials.
- A lifetime for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
- 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
- 60 – 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations.
NOTE: You will be charged with a DUI if you are caught driving your commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.
For a complete list of penalties and reasons for suspensions, visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website.
By law, you must notify your employer:
- Within 30 days of committing a traffic offense.
- By the end of the next business day after receiving a disqualification notice.
NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for violations committed in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Maine page.
Check Your Commercial Driver License Status
Serious traffic violations can lead to both CDL disqualifications and points on your driving record.
If you accumulate too many driving record points, your non-commercial driving privileges will be suspended as well.
Order your ME BMV driving record to:
- Check the status of your commercial driver’s license.
- Keep track of your driving record points.
- View your traffic offenses.
If you want to contest your CDL disqualification, you may be able to request an administrative hearing. Your Maine BMV disqualification notice will inform you whether or not you are eligible to request one.
To request an administrative hearing for suspensions caused by excessive driving record points, you can either:
- (207) 624-9000 ext. 52113.
- TTY: Maine relay 711.
- Visit the Augusta DMV office on Wednesday from 8:30-11:30 a.m. or 1-3:30 p.m. (located at the address below.)
To request an administrative hearing for all other disqualifications/suspensions:
- Make a written request that includes your:
- Full name.
- Date of birth.
- Phone number.
- Mailing address.
- Driver’s license number.
- Reason for your request.
- Mail your request to:
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Division of Legal Affairs, Adjudications & Hearings
29 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
NOTE: Administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions.
Make sure you have the expert legal advice you need to deal with your Maine CDL suspension. Contact a traffic attorney near you today.
The requirements to reinstate your CDL will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges are also suspended.
To reinstate your commercial driver’s license, you may need to:
- Satisfy your court requirements, if applicable.
- Complete an alcohol education program, if required.
- Retake and pass the commercial driver knowledge and skills tests.
- Pay a reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Maine” below.)
Refer to your suspension notice or contact the Maine BMV for specific reinstatement requirements for your situation.
CDL reinstatement fees will vary depending on the circumstances of your offense. General Maine BMV reinstatement fees include:
- DUI and BAC test refusal suspensions: $100.
- Other suspensions/disqualifications: $50.
Refer to your suspension notice or contact the Maine BMV for specific fees you need to pay to reinstate your CDL.
NOTE: Additional fees may apply. You may also need to pay additional court penalties and fees if you were convicted of a crime.
Maine BMV reinstatement fees can be paid:
- In person at your local Maine BMV office.
- By phone:
- (207) 624-9000.
- TTY: Maine relay 711.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
You can pay your reinstatement fees in person or by phone.
- In person: Contact your local Maine BMV office for accepted forms of payment.
- By phone: VISA and MasterCard credit/debit cards.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!