New to MainePage OverviewSUMMARY: New Maine Residents
If you're new to Maine, there are a number of things you need to take care of with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) once you become a resident. These include applying for a ME driver's license, registering your car, updating your voter registration information, becoming an organ donor, and more.
While many states refer to their vehicle and licensing department as the "DMV," in Maine, the office is the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
The ME BMV is responsible for such things as:
- Issuing driver's licenses and ID cards.
- Registering and titling vehicles in the state.
- Issuing commercial driver's licenses and motorcycle endorsements.
Other state departments you may interact with as you establish residency in Maine include:
- The Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, if you're registering a boat or obtaining a boating license.
- The Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions, if you're registering to vote.
- The Judicial Branch Violations Bureau, if you receive a traffic ticket or commit another offense in the state.
If you are bringing your out-of-state vehicle to Maine, you have have 30 days to register it with the BMV before you risk receiving a fine. This applies even if your out-of-state registration is still valid after this time. For more information, visit our Car Registration in Maine page.
Register Special Vehicles
If you have a special vehicle, such as a recreational vehicle (RV), moped, or trailer, the registration process will be different to registering a standard car. You can find out more about owning one of these vehicles on our Special Vehicles page.
Required Car Insurance
Before you can register your car in Maine, the BMV requires that you have appropriate auto insurance coverage. While there's no harm in simply updating your current insurance provider with your new address, you may wish to compare quotes and see whether you're still getting a good deal for the amount you're paying. Visit our Car Insurance page for more information.
Safety & Emissions Inspections
Depending on which Maine county you live in, you may need to have your car pass a safety and/or emissions inspection before the BMV will allow you to have it registered. For more information, visit our Car Inspections page.
Once you are a Maine resident, you must transfer your out-of-state driver's license within 30 days of your move. Failing to do so could result in fines and other penalties. For more information, visit our page on Applying for a New License in Maine.
NOTE: You'll need to surrender your out-of-state driver's license upon application.
If you're a teenager, the Maine BMV has a graduated driver's licensing (GDL) program that you must fulfill in order to obtain a full driver's license. Find out more on our guide to Applying for a New Teen License.
If you need a commercial driver's license (CDL), see our Applying for a New CDL page.
If you don't plan on driving, you won't need a ME driver's license, but you may wish to obtain an identification card from the BMV. ID cards can be useful if you need to prove our address, your identity, and your age. For more information, visit our page on Identification Cards in Maine.
Once you've moved to Maine, don't forget to update your voter and organ donor registration information. These things can be done when you apply for your ME driver's license or ID card, or you can do them separately online.
For more information, visit our following pages:
If you're an active military member stationed in Maine, but a resident of another state, you may find the information on our Drivers in the Military page useful. Both you and your spouse and dependents may be eligible for benefits including being able to use your out-of-state driver's license for the duration of your stay.
If you're ready to visit the DMV, use our office finder tool to help you find your nearest location.
To learn the road rules in your new state, be sure to read the Maine BMV's handy manuals:
Related ContentRecommended Articles