Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in Maine
This page will help you get on the road with your first driver's license from the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
NOTE: If you're a younger than 18 years old, please follow the instructions on our Applying for a New Teen License in Maine.
New to Maine?
If you're new to Maine and have a valid driver's license from another U.S. state, you must transfer it within 30 days of your move. You will need to apply in person at your local ME BMV office by:
- Submitting proof of your:
- Legal U.S. presence (e.g. U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport, foreign passport and I-94 print out).
- Maine residence (e.g. utility bill, paycheck stub, lease agreement).
- Passing the vision test.
- Surrendering your out-of-state driver's license.
- Paying the required fee.
Your written and road tests will likely be waived as long as your out-of-state driver's license is valid.
Types of Driver's Licenses
The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) offers different classes of driver's licenses depending on the type of vehicle you wish to drive:
- Class A and B: Commercial driver’s license (CDL).
- Class C: Standard driver's license.
If you'd like to ride a motorcycle, you won't need a different license class, but you'll need to apply for a motorcycle endorsement.
The Maine BMV also has an instruction permit that you must apply for in order to practice driving without a driver's license.
Eligibility for a ME Driver's License
To qualify for a Maine driver's license, you must be:
- At least 16 years old.
- If you're younger than 18 years old, you have additional requirements to meet. Please follow the instructions on our Applying for a Teen License page.
- A lawful resident of Maine.
If you're younger than 21 years old, you can apply for a driver's license once you:
- Have held an instruction permit for at least 6 months.
- Complete 70 hours of driving practice (including 10 hours at night).
- See our Behind-the-Wheel Training guide for more information.
Apply for a Driver's License
You must apply for your Maine driver's license in person at your local ME BMV office. You will need:
- Proof of your Maine residency, such as your:
- Utility bill.
- Paycheck stub.
- W-2 form.
- Proof of your legal U.S. presence, such as your:
- Proof of your identity, such as your:
- Driver's permit.
- Social Security card.
- Birth certificate.
- To provide your Social Security number (SSN).
- If you're ineligible for a SSN, you must provide valid immigration documents.
- Proof of your name change (if applicable), such as your:
- Divorce decree.
- Marriage certificate.
- Court documents.
- To pass the DMV tests:
- Pay the required fees.
NOTE: Your Maine driver's license will be provisional for:
- 2 years, if you're younger than 21 years old.
- 1 year, if you're 21 years old or older.
Fees for a Maine Driver's License
- Driver's license:
- Under 65 years old: $30 (for 6 years).
- 65 years old and older: $21 (for 4 years).
- Out-of-state transfer:
- Application fee: $10.
- Driver's license fee: $30.
- Written exam: $10.
DMV Driver's License Tests
You must pass both a written knowledge test and driving exam in order to get your Maine driver's license.
Your written knowledge exam will be based on information found in the Driver’s Handbook. You will need to answer questions about local traffic laws, safe driving technique, highway signs, and other topics. An excellent source of preparation for the knowledge exam is to utilize an online practice test from our certified partner. These tests will help you pass your exam on your first attempt and they even guarantee your success.
Once you've passed your written exam and vision exam, you will be able to take your driving test.
During this test, you will need to demonstrate your ability to safely handle your vehicle on public roads. You will need to maneuver your car correctly and obey all traffic laws.
Contact the Maine BMV for more information about your driver's license tests.
Distracted driving is on the same scale as drunk driving. You wouldn’t drive drunk, so why drive distracted?
Take the pledge — end distracted driving.