Traffic Ticket FAQ in MarylandPage Overview
- What do I do if I get a traffic ticket in MD?
- What happens if I miss my trial date?
- How can I request a different trial date?
- How long will points remain on my driving record?
- Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
- How many points will I get on my driver's license if ticketed?
- How many points am I allowed before my license gets suspended?
- Can I get points dismissed if I attend a Driver Improvement Program?
- What do I do if I lost my Maryland traffic ticket?
- Related Content
After getting a citation, decide on how to respond. In Maryland you have three options: challenge your traffic ticket, pay the fine, or plead guilty with an explanation and appear for a waiver hearing, request a trial date and appear for trial. Remember to alert the court of your decision within 30 days of receiving the ticket. Otherwise your driver's license will be suspended.
If you fail to appear, the court will notify the MVA and your driver's license will be suspended. Driving with a suspended license could result in jail and heavy fines.
You must submit in writing a request to the court where your trial or hearing will be heard. There is no guarantee that the judge will honor your request.
Points will remain on your driving record for 2 years, starting from the date of the citation.
It's always smart to occasionally review your driving record for errors. You especially want to check after receiving a traffic citation. Any unwarranted points could adversely affect the legal status of your driver's license. Also added points can cause an increase in your auto insurance rates.
The number of points depends on the infraction.
For more information, including a complete points list, visit our Points page.
Accumulating 8 to 11 points will result in a driver's license suspension.
Maryland does not offer the option to have points removed or reduced from a driving record. You will be required, however, to complete a Driver Improvement Program if you accumulate 5 to 7 points on your driving record.
Obtain your ticket information (citation number, fine amount) from the Judiciary's Online Case Search. Use this information to complete a Lost or Missing Citation Option form and mail to the court within 30 days of receiving the citation. For more on this, check out our page on lost traffic tickets.Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section
Provide FeedbackThis year more than
people will be injured in a car accident due to distracted driving.