Suspended CDL in Maryland
Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Maryland
If your Maryland commercial driver’s license (CDL) was suspended, disqualified of revoked by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), you’ll need to satisfy the requirements of your disqualification to have it reinstated.
Your CDL may be suspended or revoked for reasons including:
- Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Multiple traffic violations.
- Violating out-of-service orders.
- Using your vehicle to commit a felony.
On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.
The duration of your commercial driver’s license suspension reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.
NOTE: Your MD non-commercial driver’s license may also be suspended.
You may also face additional court penalties if you were convicted of a crime.
When your CDL is disqualified, suspended, or revoked, the Maryland MVA will mail you a notice of disqualification.
You must surrender your CDL to the Maryland MVA by the date shown on your disqualification notice or your suspension period will be extended. You can surrender your license in person or by mail to:
- Any Maryland MVD office.
- To the Administrative Adjudication Division:
Administrative Adjudication Division
6601 Ritchie Highway
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
NOTE: Depending on the circumstances of your disqualification, you may be able to visit a MD MVA office and request a non-commercial driver license.
Your CDL and privilege to drive a commercial vehicle are subject to both state and federal suspensions, which include:
- 1 year: 1st violation for a major offense, such as:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs/alcohol or other drug-related offenses.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Using your commercial vehicle in a felony.
- 3 years: 1st violation for a major offense (while transporting hazardous materials).
- Life: 2nd violation for a major offense.
- 60 – 120 days: Multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years, such as:
- Reckless driving.
- Driving without the necessary endorsements.
- 60 – 120 days: Railroad highway grade crossing violations, depending on the number of violations you’ve committed.
NOTE: You can also lose your CDL for violations committed in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Maryland page.
Check Your Commercial Driver’s License Status
In addition to CDL disqualifications resulting from serious traffic violations, accumulating too many driving record points can lead to a suspension/revocation of your driving privileges.
For violations/offenses committed within 2 years, the Maryland MVA will:
- Send you a warning letter after 3 – 4 points.
- Require you to complete a Driver Improvement Program after 5 – 7 points.
- Suspend your driver’s license after 8 – 11 points.
- Revoke your Maryland driver’s license after 12 points or more.
You can check your commercial driver’s license status and how many points you have by ordering your Maryland driving record.
Depending on the reason for your MD CDL suspension, you may be eligible for a MVA administrative hearing.
NOTE: Maryland MVA administrative hearings have no affect on criminal court decisions and convictions.
If you’d like to request a hearing, you must do so within 15 days of receiving your suspension.
To request a Maryland MVA hearing, follow the instructions included on your suspension notice. You will need to return the completed notice and filing fee by mail to the MVA (see “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended CDL” below).
If your request is approved, you will be notified of the details of your hearings.
Failing or Refusing a BAC Test
If refusing or failing a BAC test caused your CDL suspension, you may request a hearing.
If you request your hearing within:
- 10 days of your suspension: Your hearing will be scheduled within 30 days.
- 11-30 days of your suspension: Your hearing will be scheduled within 45 days.
- After 30 days: Your hearing request will be denied.
If you are requesting a hearing for your BAC test refusal/failure suspension, you will need to return your completed notice and filing fee to the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) at:
11101 Gilroy Road
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
In Maryland, if your BAC is 0.04% or higher while driving a commercial vehicle, you will be charged with driving under the influence (DUI).
In addition to suspensions/disqualifications and other penalties you may receive from the court, your CDL can also be suspended/disqualified by the MD MVA for failing or refusing a BAC test.
Your CDL will be disqualified for:
- 1 year for your 1st offense.
- 3 years for your 1st offense if you were transporting hazardous materials.
- Life for any subsequent offenses.
The requirements and fees to reinstate your Maryland CDL will vary depending on your offense.
If your CDL was disqualified for less than 1 year, you’ll need to:
- Wait out your disqualification period.
- Pay your fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended CDL” below.)
- Submit any required documents.
- Clear any other suspensions or revocations, if applicable.
- Satisfy any court requirements, if necessary.
If your CDL was disqualified for 1 year or more, you’ll also need to pass the commercial driver’s license knowledge and driving skills tests before you can reinstate your license.
NOTE: If your non-commercial driving privileges are also suspended/revoked, you’ll need to satisfy additional reinstatement requirements. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Maryland page.
If your non-commercial driving privilege is also suspended along with your CDL, the Maryland MVA will determine your eligibility for a restricted driver’s license that allows you to drive:
- To and from:
- Authorized locations.
- Once you have installed an ignition interlock device, for alcohol/drug-related suspensions.
NOTE: A restricted license will not allow you to operate a commercial vehicle.
For more information about obtaining a restricted license, contact the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration:
- (410) 768-7000.
- TTY: (800) 492-4575.
- E-mail: MVACS@mdot.state.md.us.
For specific fees to reinstate your CDL, please refer to your disqualification notice or contact the MD MVA.
NOTE: In addition to reinstatement fees, you may also need to pay any outstanding court fines.
To request a suspension hearing with the Maryland Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH), you will need to pay a $150 filing fee.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The Maryland MVA accepts the following forms of payment:
- Check payable to “Motor Vehicle Administration.”
- VISA, MasterCard, and American Express credit/debit card.
For hearing requests, the OAH accepts payment by check or money order made payable to “Maryland State Treasurer.”
NOTE: Checks must be printed with your name and address. You must also include your driver’s license number and phone number.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!