Renewing Your License in Maryland
Renewing your driver license?
Perfect time to compare car insurance rates.
1. Start Your Quote:
You must have a valid driver’s license to get behind the wheel, so be sure yours isn’t expired or invalid due to too many tickets. To find out more, read on.
There is also a minimum amount of financial responsibility in the form of car insurance that you must possess. You may also want to get supplemental insurance, which covers things like body work and natural disaster. Shopping online for insurance is the most convenient way to get quotes.
Whether you have a Class C (passenger cars and trucks) or a Motorcycle license, you must renew it every five years.
If you hold a Commercial License, the requirements are different for renewing.
Check your driving record if you need more license details.
You may renew your license up to one year after it expires. Visit any MVA office with:
- Your expired license
- Two proofs of Maryland residency
- Social Security number
- Payment of license renewal fee
You will also be required to pass all three tests: vision, knowledge and road. You must first pass the vision and knowledge tests before taking the road test, which requires an appointment.
If you don’t know of your license’s status, you can look it up on your driving record.
The easiest way to see your suspended status is to look at a copy of driving record. This tells you if your license was suspended or revoked and when you can get it back. Maybe you’ve gotten a few too many traffic citations or have a DUI. Even if your license isn't suspended yet, it maybe be close to suspension.
You may find your car insurance rates have gone up after your suspension. Looking for a better deal is a good idea before you get back on the road.
If your license has been lost or stolen, someone may be using it and pretending to be you. Report it to the authorities immediately and get a new license right away.
Renewal notices are sent out 60 days before your license expires. This tells you if you can renew by mail or if you must go into an MVA office.
Anyone who has the option to renew by mail but who is 40 years of age or older must have a vision check. But you can have it done at your optometrist by having them sign a form, or you can go into an office and get the test.
You may renew online if you meet the following criteria:
- Possess a valid, non-expired driver's license.
- You're renewing within six months of your driver license's expiration date.
- You're at least 21, but younger than 40.
- You own a verifiable Social Security number, or a current driver's license with a "U" restriction.
- The MVA has your current, verifiable address on record.
- You received your last driver's license in person.
Keep in mind that you'll also be charged a $6 per year fee when renewing.
You can only renew by mail once every other renewal cycle.
- If you can answer "No" to each question on the renewal postcard, then you can renew by mail.
- Answering "Yes" to any of the questions will require a trip to an MVA office.
- If you wait until 15 days from expiration, you have to go in person to renew.
The fee to renew your license both in person and by mail is $30.
After you get your renewal card, prepare:
- Your renewal card
- Your old license
- Your Social Security number
You’ll also undergo a vision test.
Visit an MVA office to complete the renewal.
When was the last time you reviewed all the rules of the road, or updated yourself on new laws recently passed? If you’re like most people, you haven’t. Taking a supplemental driving class could be just what you need, especially if your insurance company will give you a discount for doing so.
Call your insurance company or read your policy to see if they offer this break. If they don’t, you may want to consider finding a company that will.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback