DMV Point System in Maryland
Driving Record Points in Maryland
If you commit traffic violations, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) will add points to your driving record. Too many points will generally lead to Maryland MVA penalties and actions against your driver's license/driving privileges. You may need to pay reinstatement fees, court fines, complete a driver improvement course, or drive with certain restrictions.
On this page you'll find general information about the Maryland point system and some of the common offenses that may lead to receiving driving record points.
If you have specific questions about your driving record or MD driver's license, please contact a (Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) office.
In Maryland, each moving violation offense is assessed a point value. You must be convicted of the offense for the points to go into effect on your driving record. The higher the number, the more weight the offense has against your record (and ultimately your bank account).
Point accumulation remains on your Maryland driving record indefinitely.
Accumulating 3 to 4 points over 2 years will result in the Maryland MVA issuing a written caution. The warning is just a friendly heads-up that accruing another infraction will result in more stern measures.
Receive 5 to 7 points in 2 years and the MVA will require you to you sign up for a Points System Conference (PSC) and/or complete a driver improvement program (DIP). The programs are offered by various third-party providers across the state and the fees vary with each.
When you tally 8 to 11 points in 2 years, you might start questioning whether you are becoming a detriment to the road. You will have plenty of time to ponder because, at this point, the Maryland MVA will suspend your driver's license.
Hitting the high-water mark, or accruing at least 12 points in 2 years, will result in the MVA sending out a "notice of revocation." You will be asked to relinquish your driver's license to an MVA office and once the revocation period expires you'll have to apply for a new license.
What you may deem as rather strict punishment, the state sees as concern for the greater good. So when you tip the total at as little as 3 points within 2 years, you most likely will see a form of action taken, albeit not a harsh one. Exceed that by much more and watch out―you just might end up enrolled in driving reform school.
Most moving infractions that do not cause an accident are assessed minimum points only. Maryland has a comprehensive list of offenses and their point assignments, but here is a quick overview of the most frequent:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI).
- Driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs.
- Unlawful use of your MD driver's license.
- Loaning or borrowing a driver's license.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver's license, you can order a driving record report.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!