Menu

Motorcycle Registration in Maryland

To legally ride a motorcycle on the roadways in Maryland, you must register it with the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).

Use this guide to learn more about motorcycle registration for new residents and what to do following a purchase from a dealership or private seller.

Looking for renewal information? Jump over to our Registration Renewal section for help!

New to Maryland

After establishing Maryland residency, you have 60 days to register and title your motorcycle. Failure to do so may result in fines or other penalties. For specific titling information, check out our guide to MD title transfers.

Prior to registration, new Maryland residents must complete a safety inspection at a certified inspection station. Our Vehicle Inspections section has specifics for you. You'll then have 90 days after your inspection to complete the registration process.

After your safety inspection, visit your local MVA office and:

Keep in mind that if your motorcycle is being leased, you will be required to present lien documents in addition to the requirements above.

MD Motorcycle Registration Process

The process for registering a motorcycle you've just purchased varies depending on whether you're buying from a dealership or a private seller. Here's what you'll need to do in each instance.

Dealership Purchases

After buying a motorcycle at a dealership, most Maryland dealerships will complete the titling and registration process for you. However, you should still make sure that no additional steps will be required on your part before you leave.

If you DO end up registering your motorcycle yourself, follow the steps below for private purchases.

Private Motorcycle Sales

When you purchase a used motorcycle from a private seller, you must register your motorcycle with the Motor Vehicle Administration yourself.

You'll need the following items to register at your local MVA branch:

  • The signed-over motorcycle title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin, with the odometer reading disclosed.
  • A bill of sale to record the purchase price.
    • You'll need to use a notarized Bill of Sale (Form VR-181) IF:
      • The motorcycle is under 7 years old.
      • The sale price is under book value by $500 or more.
      • You want to pay taxes based on the sale price instead of the book value.
  • A safety inspection certificate.
  • The following completed forms:
  • Proof of Maryland motorcycle insurance.
  • Your motorcycle license.
  • Payment for the $104 base fee plus any other applicable taxes or fees (see below).

Once your motorcycle is registered with the MVA, your registration is good for 2 years, after which you will renew using the standard renewal process. Visit our Registration Renewal guide for more.

Motorcycle Registration Fees & Taxes

The basic fees you may have to pay when you register your motorcycle include the following:

  • Motorcycle registration: $104.
  • Title fee: $100.
  • Titling tax: 6% based on fair market value.
    • The MVA has some specifics regarding excise tax for new residents to the state. Visit the agency's guide for new residents for details.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Looking for Motorcycle Registration in Another State?