Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Maryland
Liability insurance is necessary when you own a motorcycle to prove that you have the financial means to cover any accident you might be involved in. Without insurance, you’ll be driving illegally.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
While other states offer the option of leaving a big sum of money with the state in lieu of insurance, Maryland does not. You must purchase liability i motorcycle insurance from a licensed insurance company or broker.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
The state does not require scooters or mopeds to be registered or insured; you must still possess the proper license to operate either.
- Scooters have no pedals and have an engine of 50 ccs or less and 2.7 HP or less.
- A moped has pedals, a motor with 1.5 HP or less; and an engine of 50 ccs or less.
You may be able to get these insured as property instead. Consult an insurance agent for details.
On the other hand, you must register and insure a motorcycle, which is defined as:
- A two-wheeled or three-wheeled vehicle (not ATVs or tractors) with a 51 cc engine or bigger.
Maryland Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required for all motorcycles in the minimum amounts of:
- Bodily injury:
- $60,000/two people or more.
- Property damage: $15,000.
Before you commit to buying, you should research these types of coverage as well as other coverages that might be beneficial to you.
A Note on Personal Injury Protection
While no-fault insurance, or personal injury protection (PIP) is required for car owners, it is not required for motorcycles. In fact, you might find as you get motorcycle insurance quotes that most carriers will not offer PIP to motorcyclists at all.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
It’s illegal to ride a motorcycle in Maryland without wearing a DOT Certified helmet; carrying insurance does not negate that law as it does in some states. Additionally, you must have proper eye protection if your helmet does not have a visor.
Proof of Motorcycle Insurance
The Motor Vehicle Administration has you file form FR-19, or proof of insurance, with them when you register the motorcycle.
- Get a FR-19 from the insurance company. A copy is okay. The insurance company can also fax it to the MVA.
- FR-19 states that for as long as you register the motorcycle, you will keep up the insurance.
If you let the insurance lapse, the insurance company will notify the MVA. Send the MVA a new FR-19 if you switch insurance companies; otherwise, they will get a notice from your old company that you dropped them and think that you have no insurance at all, which will leave you vulnerable to penalities.
Tickets are also a problem. If you have enough points, the MVA will send you a letter asking for a new FR-19, as you will have to have more expensive coverage.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
With no proof of motorcycle insurance filed comes penalties, including:
- $150 for the first 30 days of no insurance, and $7 per day afterward.
- Revocation of your registration and license plates, with a $30 reinstatement fee.
- 1 year of imprisonment or $1,000 in fines if you give false proof of insurance.
- The inability to register another vehicle until you settle all the claims.
- Court costs and penalties.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!