- Location: Maryland
Boat Registration and Licenses in MarylandGet Free Boat & Watercraft Insurance Quotes
Enter Your Zip Code:Page Overview
- Recreational vessels with any type of mechanical propulsion system (primary or auxiliary), to be used mostly in Maryland waterways during the calender year.
- Commercial vessels with any type of mechanical propulsion system (primary or auxiliary), to be used mostly in Maryland waterways during the calender year.
Unlike many states, Maryland does not exempt vessels documented by the U.S. Coast Guard, if the vessels will be used mostly in Maryland waters during the year.
You may register your boat in person or through the regular mail. Here's how:
- Complete the boat registration application.
- Locate your original Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin. When registering a new boat, you may use a notarized bill of sale only if the original certificate didn't include the necessary purchaser, date, and price information.
- When registering a used boat, have a notarized bill of sale ready. You may need additional documentation for certain types of used boats.
- Bring your 5% vessel excise fee, $24 registration fee (most boats), and other required fees. These fees may vary according to your situation.
- Failing to pay your vessel excise fee within 30 days of your boat purchase will result in an excise penalty plus monthly interest charges.
- Travel to any Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR) center with the necessary fees and paperwork.
To register your vessel by mail, simply mail the required documentation and fees to any DNR center.
Additional Information on Homebuilt Boats
These boats require applicants to complete the boat registration form as well as a builder's certificate of origin form. Be sure to provide the receipts and photographs mentioned on the certificate of origin form.
- Most boats: $24
Although there is no registration fee for vessels 16 feet or less or with a less than 7.6 horsepower motor, they do need a registration decal.
Registrations expire on December 31 of every second year. You may renew in person or by mail. Here's how:
Renew in Person
- Complete the renewal application.
- Have your registration fee ready (listed on application form).
- Go to any DNR location and renew.
Renew by Mail
Make your check payable to the DNR.
Replace a Lost Registration
You may also mail the replacement form and payment to your nearest DNR office.
If you were born after June 30, 1972, you must have a certificate of boating safety education in order to operate any motorized vessel.
Obtain your certificate by completing a state-approved safety course, or by passing an equivalency exam.
Approved boating safety courses are offered through a classroom setting. Prices and times vary with the provider. The classes are at least eight hours long, and require a passing grade of at least 80%.
Even if you're not required to take the class, it does provide a chance to improve your boater education, while possibly reducing your insurance rates. BOATERexam.com (see link below) offers a convenient online course, allowing you to study from home.Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
- How to Replace Lost Boat or RV Registration
- Which Vessels Require Boat Registration?
- 7 Boating Safety Tips for Staying Safe on the Water
- Boat Safety Course: Learn Boating Basics
- Boat License Requirements: Learn How to Apply for Your Boat License
- Boat Registration Requirements: How to Register Your Vessel