Traffic Ticket FAQ in Massachusetts
- What happens if I get 3 speeding tickets in one year?
- How long do surchargeable events remain on my driving record?
- Why should I periodically check my driving record?
- Do points go on my driving record for violations outside of Massachusetts?
- Do I have any driving options if my Massachusetts driver’s license gets suspended?
- Are parking tickets considered moving violations?
- What if I have a scheduling conflict with my hearing date?
- Can I cross-examine police officers during the hearing
- How much time do I have to respond to my citation?
- What happens if I ignore my traffic ticket?
- Can I ask the magistrate to reduce my MA citation to a warning?
- Can I appeal a civil violation?
- Why should I hire a traffic ticket attorney?
You’re MA driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days.
Major violations (DUI, reckless driving, etc.) will usually remain permanent. Learn more about the Massachusetts point system.
It’s always wise to check for accuracy, verifying that the surchargeable events on your driving record are correct. Because an accumulation of points and traffic violation convictions could cause your MA driver’s license to be suspended or revoked and spur a rise in your car insurance rates, make sure the state's record is correct.
No, but this does not mean the violations go unreported. The violations (not points) will appear on your driving record, which could affect your car insurance rates and have bearing on the status of your MA driver’s license.
Depending on the situation, you may apply for a Massachusetts hardship license or restricted license. This will allow you to legally drive to and from work, or to and from school.
Parking tickets are not considered moving violations and do not appear on your driving record. They must be settled like a traffic ticket or you will not be allowed to renew your MA driver's license or vehicle registration.
Call the clerk-magistrate's office and request a new hearing date. Some clerks may ask that you provide your request in writing, along with any documents verifying why you cannot attend your hearing date. There is no guarantee that the clerk will honor your rescheduling request.
The court will allow, within reason, the cross-examining of police officers and witnesses.
You must respond to a civil citation (non-criminal) within 20 days, while criminal citations (OUI, leaving the scene of an accident) have only a response window of 4 days.
If you were cited for a civil citation, the RMV will assess a late fee. If you fail to pay the late fee and the ticket fine the RMV will then suspend your MA driver's license.
If you were issued a criminal citation, you will receive a court summons. If you ignore this, the court will issue a warrant for your arrest, suspend your Massachusetts driver's license, levy fines and deny you from receiving unemployment, workers' compensation and public assistance benefits and state tax refunds. In addition, the court may also suspend or deny any professional licenses or permits.
No. Only the citing officer has the authority to decide between a citation and a warning.
Complete a "Claim of Appeal" form, which you can obtain from any clerk-magistrate's office, and submit it along with a non-refundable $25 filing fee.
Legal counsel will advise you on how to plea. If you opt to fight your traffic ticket, a traffic ticket lawyer will use his or her legal experience to organize your defense, improving your chances for reduced charges or dismissal.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!