Motorcycle License in Massachusetts
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
- Who is Eligible for a Motorcycle Permit and License
- Obtaining a Massachusetts Motorcycle Permit
- Driving on a Massachusetts Motorcycle Learner's Permit
- Taking the Massachusetts Motorcycle Road Test
- Massachusetts Rider Education Course
- Renewing a Massachusetts Motorcycle License
- Replacing a Lost Massachusetts Motorcycle License
- Massachusetts Moped Regulations
If you want to drive a motorcycle in Massachusetts, you're going to need a special motorcycle license or a motorcycle endorsement on your Massachusetts non-commercial Class D motor vehicle license.
The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) defines a motorcycle as a motor vehicle that has a seat or saddle for the rider and no more than three wheels on the ground. So that covers motorcycles, dirt bikes, choppers, motor scooters, pocket bikes and just about every other form of motorized transportation that doesn't have four wheels on the ground at all times.
Below you'll find all the basics you'll need to know about obtaining a Massachusetts motorcycle permit and license (Class M). Don't drive without one. You'll be subject to criminal penalties, including loss of the license you use to drive those four-wheeled vehicles.
And remember, Massachusetts has a helmet law. You may be able to drive with your head free and clear in neighboring New Hampshire, but get caught without a helmet in Massachusetts and you face more severe penalties.
To apply for a Massachusetts motorcycle learner's permit, you need to be a Massachusetts resident at least 16 years old with parental consent―a parent must sign the application form. If you're at least 18 years old, the parental consent requirement is waived. There is a $30 application fee.
To apply for a Massachusetts motorcycle license, you need to be a Massachusetts resident at least 16 1/2 years old with parental consent and certified completion of all requirements of the Massachusetts junior operator's license. Any Massachusetts resident who's at least 18 has the parental and junior operator's requirements waived. There's no fee for the road test, but you'll need to pay $50 for a license when you pass.
You do not have to hold a driver's license (Class D) to apply for a motorcycle license.
Applying for and obtaining a Massachusetts motorcycle permit is similar to applying for a Massachusetts non-commercial (Class D) permit. You must follow these steps:
- Take the application to a nearby Massachusetts RMV office along with a $30 fee and the proper ID. If you already hold a MA driver's license and only want to add a motorcycle endorsement, the fee will be $15. Written exams are given on a walk-in basis. So be ready for the exam when you walk in the door―20 questions on motorcycle safety. You can study for the written test using the Motorcycle Manual.
- Pass the exam―you need to get at least 18 out of 25 correct―and a required eye exam and you're the proud owner of a Massachusetts motorcycle learner's permit. It's good for two years but is not renewable. If you don't have your license after two years, you need to go through the testing process all over again.
Unlike a motor vehicle permit, which requires you ride with a licensed driver, a Massachusetts motorcycle permit holder must ride alone during daylight hours only. You need to carry your permit with you while on the motorcycle and wear an approved helmet and safety glasses or goggles. Be careful when planning to travel out of state on a Massachusetts motorcycle learner's permit. You can only go to states that allow out-of-state motorcycle permit holders to ride. Check the rules before you go.
To upgrade your Massachusetts motorcycle permit to a full Class M license, you need to pass a road test on your motorcycle. You can schedule the road test by calling the RMV telephone center. You will be notified by mail about when and where the test is set to take place.
You don't need a sponsor for a motorcycle road test, but you will need your valid permit and a motorcycle that is legally registered, insured and inspected. You should also make sure you have an approved helmet and face protection.
If you pass the test, the RMV inspector will sign and stamp your permit, which can be exchanged at any Massachusetts RMV office for a license or an endorsement on your existing license. There is a $50 fee for the Class M license, which is good for five years and expires on your birthday. The endorsement on your existing license costs $15.
You can get out of taking a road test for your Massachusetts motorcycle license if you complete and pass the state's Motorcycle Rider Education Training Course. These courses are given by approved private companies at eight locations around the state and include both classroom and road training and tests. To qualify for an exemption, you must apply for the exemption within 90 days of graduating from an approved motorcycle training course.
Massachusetts motorcycle licenses are valid for five years and expire on your birthday. You should receive notification from the RMV about 60 days before your license expires. The most convenient way to renew your Massachusetts motorcycle license is online, but you can also renew your license up to one year before it expires at any Massachusetts RMV office.
The important thing to remember about renewing your Massachusetts motorcycle license is that if you have any unpaid tickets, including parking tickets, unpaid child support or an outstanding warrant issued by a Massachusetts court, the RMV will not process your license renewal until the debts or the warrant are settled. Take care of this before you attempt the renewal, otherwise you're setting yourself up for a big headache.
Massachusetts motorcycle license renewals cost $50 for five years. An endorsement on your driver's license can be renewed for $15.
Lost your Massachusetts motorcycle license? Did it get stolen or mutilated? It's going to cost you $25 to get a new one. You can order a new Massachusetts motorcycle license online, through the RMV phone center, or at any Massachusetts RMV office.
Mopeds have their own set of laws in Massachusetts. You need to meet the following qualifications to drive a moped legally in Massachusetts:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have a valid Massachusetts Class D or Class M permit or license.
You also must wear an approved helmet and eye protection and not go more than 25 mph on the moped, or face criminal prosecution. You're also going to have to register the moped and submit it for a state inspection to get a moped sticker. Mopeds without stickers cannot be driven legally on Massachusetts roads.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.