Drivers Ed in Massachusetts
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Ed in Massachusetts
If you're a teenager applying for your first driver's license, you'll need to complete a Driver's Ed program to meet the requirements set by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV).
MA driver's education programs help young drivers develop the knowledge and skills necessary to ace the road test and become a responsible driver.
On this page you'll find information about MA Driver's Ed requirements, completion options, and the next steps to earning your full driver's license in Massachusetts.
If you're younger than 18 years old and are applying for your first MA driver's license, you'll need to complete a Driver's Ed course.
To successfully satisfy your driver's education requirement with the MA RMV:
- You must complete your driver's education course within 2 years.
- You must be at least 16 years old with a valid learner's permit before beginning the in-car instruction component.
For more information on obtaining your learner's permit, please visit our Drivers Permits in Massachusetts page.
Massachusetts driver's education courses consist of classroom and behind-the-wheel training sessions.
Both public schools and professional Driver's Ed schools offer courses throughout the state.
For a complete list of driving schools near you, visit the Massachusetts DMV website.
Program costs, locations, and hours will vary. Please contact your driver's education provider for specific information.
No matter which driver's education provider you choose, your instructor will cover topics including:
- The MA driver's license and driving privilege.
- Vehicle safety.
- Traffic laws.
- Defensive driving.
- Safe driving techniques.
- Good driving attitudes and behaviors.
The classroom sessions combined with the in-car instruction will help you develop the skills necessary to obtain your first Massachusetts driver's license.
For more information about MA driver's education, please refer to the RMV Driver Education Program guide.
Classroom & Behind-the-Wheel Hours
Your Massachusetts Driver's Ed course will be broken down into:
- 30 hours of classroom lessons.
- 18 hours of in-car instruction, which includes:
- 12 hours of behind-the-wheel practice.
- 6 hours of classmate observation.
NOTE: Your parent or legal guardian must also participate in 2 hours of your driver's education program.
Upon completing the course, you'll receive a Driver's Ed certificate of completion.
The behind-the-wheel driver's training component of your driver's education course is designed to prepare you to begin driving while supervised by your parent or with an authorized licensed adult. You'll have the opportunity to gain driving experience and receive hands-on safe driving tips that you'll be able to apply every time you get behind the wheel.
Completing Driver's Ed places you one step closer to getting behind the wheel with your first Massachusetts driver's license.
Before you can take your DMV road test and get your junior MA driver's license, you'll need to:
- Be at least 16 1/2 years old.
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
- Complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice.
- Have no traffic violations for 6 months before your road test.
For information about scheduling a road test, necessary documents, and driver's license fees, please see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Massachusetts page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!