Smog Check and Car Inspection in Louisiana
The Louisiana State Police (LSP) requires vehicles registered in the state to regularly complete a motor vehicle inspection.
You must complete an inspection if:
- You're new to Louisiana and you want to register your car with the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).
- Your current LA brake tag and/or emissions sticker is about to expire. Inspections must be completed no later than 1 calendar month after your sticker expires, or you risk being cited for a secondary offense.
- You purchased a used vehicle and want to register it with the OMV.
- You are ordered by law enforcement to submit your vehicle for inspection. Inspections must be successfully completed within 5 days if ordered by a law enforcement officer.
The Louisiana motor vehicle inspections consist of two parts:
- Safety inspection on all vehicles.
- Emissions inspections (only required in certain areas).
All vehicles in Louisiana are required to get a safety inspection at least every other year, but not more than twice a year. Your inspection sticker will have an expiration date showing when the next inspection will be required.
LA Vehicle Safety Inspection
The purpose of the safety inspection is to ensure that your vehicle is not a safety hazard to yourself or other drivers. Commonly inspected parts include:
- Brakes and brake lights.
- Wheels and tires.
- Windshield and windows (i.e. cracks and holes that may impair driving).
- Seat belts.
- Headlights and turn lights.
- Exhaust system (must not be noisy or smoke excessively).
- Steering mechanisms.
There are a number of additional items that technicians will inspect, and you can review the entire inspection checklist before you appear. The Louisiana safety inspection fee is $10.
Louisiana Smog and Emissions Testing
Not all Louisiana residents must complete a smog and emissions test with their safety inspection (see "Louisiana Incentives for Eco-Driving" below). Your vehicle requires an emissions inspection―or “enhanced inspection"―along with the safety inspection if your vehicle is gasoline powered, weighs less than 10,000 lbs , and is registered in one of the following parishes:
- East Baton Rouge
- West Baton Rouge
The smog check and emissions inspection consists of such things as:
- Gas cap pressure test.
- On-board computer system check (i.e. OBD II test).
- Visual inspection of:
―Air injection system.
―Positive crankcase ventilation system.
―Evaporative emission control system.
―Exhaust gas recirculation system.
Your safety and emissions testing fee is $18, and your sticker is valid for 1 year. You may review additional information regarding the emissions testing portion of the vehicle inspection program by reviewing the inspection checklist.
Louisiana Incentives for Eco-Friendly Driving
Louisiana doesn't require smog and emissions testing for certain newer vehicles.
Learn more about eco-friendly exemptions, as well as how you might save money with tax incentives and auto insurance discounts, on our green driver incentives page.
LA Safety Inspection Requirements
When you appear for your safety (and emissions, if applicable) inspection, you will need to present:
At the end of the inspection, you will be given a vehicle information report (VIR) that shows the results of your test, along with a new inspection sticker that will be affixed to your windshield if you pass. The results of your test will be automatically uploaded to the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).
If you fail, you will receive instructions on how to get your vehicle repaired and retested.
For additional questions regarding the LA motor vehicle inspection program, contact the Louisiana State Police (LSP) at (225) 925-6113.
Louisiana Vehicle Safety Inspection Locations
Depending on where your vehicle is registered, you may be limited to where you can complete an inspection.
If your vehicle is registered in one of the following cities, you cannot complete your safety inspection at a state inspection station, and must contact your city's local Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) to get information on where to take your vehicle:
- New Orleans
If your vehicle is registered in one of the following parishes, you must complete your vehicle inspection within your parish:
- East Baton Rouge
- West Baton Rouge
To find an inspection station near you, click on the inspection station list and search by your parish name.
LA Vehicle Inspection Failures
If your vehicle fails its inspection―safety or emissions―you will not be given an inspection sticker. You must complete necessary repairs to your vehicle as listed on your VIR and submit it for a retest as soon as possible.
Failed Vehicle Safety Inspection
You will not be allowed to drive a vehicle that has failed a safety inspection, except to a home or business. You have 30 days to make the necessary repairs and receive a clean inspection.
Failed Smog and Emissions Test
If you fail any portion of the emissions and smog check, an orange temporary sticker will be placed on your windshield, allowing you to drive for 30 days.
You must complete all necessary repairs to your vehicle as listed on your VIR, and pass a retest before the 30 days expires.
You get one free retest as long as you:
- Complete the retest within 30 days.
- Take your vehicle to the same testing station where it was originally tested.
Challenge Emissions Results
If you fail the emissions test and you feel it was in error, you may challenge the results. Take your vehicle for a free retest to:
Motor Vehicles Emissions Inspection Challenge Station
3233 Rosedale Road
Port Allen, LA 70767
Hours of operation:
Monday―Saturday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
For more information or to make an appointment, call (225) 342-8425.
Louisiana Vehicle Inspection Exemptions
Safety Inspection Exemptions
You do not need to complete a safety inspection if:
- Your current Louisiana brake tag and emissions sticker is still valid.
- Your vehicle is 25 years old and:
―The vehicle is used primarily for exhibitions (e.g. car shows, parades, etc.).
―The vehicle is registered as an antique with the LA OMV.
Emissions Inspection Exemptions
If you live in any of the five parishes mentioned above, and your vehicle is two model years old or newer, you are exempt from OBD II test. You will still need to have your vehicle inspected with the anti-tampering check and gas cap integrity test, and you must still undergo your safety inspection.