Salvaged Vehicles in LouisianaCompare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:
Whether or not you want to repair your vehicle, once your insurance company has deemed it a total loss and an insurance settlement has been made, you, your insurance company, or an authorized agent must apply for a Salvage Title.
Upon receiving the Salvage Title, the vehicle can be rebuilt and restored, disassembled, or sold.
The applications you'll find in this section can be viewed using the free Adobe Reader software.
The first step to applying for a Salvage Title is to obtain a statement for proof of loss from your insurance company.
Then, complete a Vehicle Application (Form R0312). Write "Salvage Title" at the top of the application. If you wish to permanently dismantle, or "junk," your vehicle, you'll need to complete an Application for Permit to Dismantle Vehicle (Form R0301).
Next, gather up your original title or the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO). Write "Salvage Title" across the top of whichever one you have.
If there is a lien on the vehicle, you'll also need to find your Uniform Commercial Code (UCC-1) security agreement or financing statement.
Fees for obtaining a Salvage Title are as follows:
- Salvage Title: $18.50
- Handling: $8.00
- Record a lien: $10
- Record a lien (using a UCC instrument): $15.00
Payment can be made with a money order, cashier's check, business check, or cash.
Note that cash is only accepted if you're applying in person. All checks must be accompanied by your driver's license number.
Now that you have all the necessary paperwork and fees ready, take everything to your local Office of Motor Vehicle location or mail it to:
Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
A Disclosure of Salvage Vehicle form, which can be found at the bottom of Louisiana's Vehicle Certificate of Title Law Web page, must be submitted to the OMV upon the last transfer to ensure that the last owner of the vehicle is aware of the salvage status.
All Louisiana residents who purchase an out-of-state salvaged vehicle must sign a Disclosure of Salvage Vehicle form; the seller isn't required to sign the form as long as all paperwork shows "salvage."Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸