Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Louisiana
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
If you're looking for a convenient and affordable alternative method of transportation, a moped or scooter might be the answer. If so, it's important to be aware of the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles' (OMV's) regulations concerning licensing and registration for these vehicles.
In Louisiana, a motorized bicycle or moped is a pedal bicycle with a motor rated no more than 1.5 brake horsepower, a cylinder capacity of no more than 50 cubic centimeters, and an automatic transmission that produces no more than 25 mph on a flat surface.
To operate a moped on Louisiana roads, you must be at least 15 years old and have a valid driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement. However, drivers who are between 15 and 16 years of age are restricted to operating their moped within three miles of their primary residence, unless they are traveling with a parent or guardian.
To register your moped, bring the following documents to your local OMV:
- Title or notarized certificate of origin
- Evidence of security interest by a UCC-1 or equivalent form
- Odometer statement
- Proof of insurance
The title fee for a moped is $18.50, plus an $8.00 handling fee. Additional fees and taxes will vary according to the purchase price of your vehicle and your parish location. If you have a question about moped registration procedures, you can contact the OMV at (877) DMV-LINE.
Although the OMV is unable to accept credit card payments at walk-in office locations, available forms of payment include:
- Check (if it includes your driver's license number)
- Money order
- Cashier's check
Regardless of whether your moped has been properly registered, it is against the law to operate it on a sidewalk, interstate highway, or location that will impede traffic flow.
Although scooters are becoming increasingly popular among teenagers and young adults, you may want to think twice before purchasing one to use as a primary method of transportation. According to the Louisiana State Police, gas or electric scooters do not meet the safety-equipment requirements for registration. This means that these vehicles cannot be legally driven on Louisiana roads. If you are found operating a scooter on a public roadway or the shoulder of a public roadway, you will be ticketed.
For further reading about mopeds and other motor-driven cycles, visit the following sections on this site:
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.