New to Louisiana
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
With a motto like that, Louisiana residents can't help but feel a sense of togetherness, honesty, and pride. Why shouldn't they? As the home to delicious Cajun foods, Bourbon Street, and the legendary Mardi Gras celebration, Louisiana residents have a right to love their state!
It's no wonder that Louisiana is known for good times and great music. The state also boasts some excellent musical talent with Louis Armstrong, Mahalia Jackson, Fats Domino, and Jerry Lee Lewis calling Louisiana home.
But the people of Louisiana haven't always known good times. Since Hurricane Katrina and Hurricane Rita struck in 2005, many residents lost their possessions, their homes, and even their loved ones. Louisiana responded with The Road Home, FEMA Flood Recovery, Natural Disaster Tax Refund Information, and Louisiana Rebuilds.
Now, that's union, justice, and confidence in action!
New residents are required to apply for their Louisiana driver's license within 30 days of moving to Louisiana. This can be done at your local Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) location.
You'll need to take:
- Your current driver's license, an official copy of your driving record, or a clearance letter from your former state
- Your Social Security card
- Proof of insurance for any vehicles you own
- Documents proving any name changes, such as marriage licenses and divorce decrees
- The required fees for your area and type of license
Those under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
If your license has been expired for one year, you'll be required to take the written exam. If it's been expired for two years, you must take the written exam and the driving skills exam.
Visit Applying for a New License for more specific details.
New residents are required to register and title their vehicles in Louisiana within 30 days of moving to Louisiana. This can be taken care of at your nearest OMV location.
Bring your completed Vehicle Application, your original out-of-state registration certificate and title, and your proof of insurance.
You'll pay 4% usage tax, plus any parish taxes on your vehicle applicable to your parish. You may be eligible for credit depending on your former state of residence.
Information about liens, possible tax credits, and vehicle values can be found on the Vehicle Tax, Title & License pages.
If you're a full-time student in Louisiana, you aren't required to transfer your license or registration.
Of course. If you're new to Louisiana, check out the list of helpful links below to learn more about education, employment, and entertainment.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing