Drivers Ed in Louisiana
Completion of a Louisiana Drivers Ed course is suggested and often required prior to obtaining your learner's permit, and ultimately receiving your Driver's License. Although not approved for the state of Louisiana, I Drive Safely is a good course to prepare yourself for your state's licensing exam.
Whether you're applying for your learner's permit or full license, all first-time applicants in Louisiana are required to take and successfully complete either a six-hour pre-licensing course or a 38-hour driver education course.
NOTE: The six-hour courses are for people who are at least 17 years old and applying for their permits or first-time Class E licenses. The 38-hour courses are for 15- and 16-year-olds applying for their permits.
When you apply, you'll need to take your certificate showing proof that you successfully completed the course.
The courses are approved by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections. The Louisiana OMV provides online lists of school locations and contact information.
In addition to taking one of the mandatory courses, it's a good idea to study the Louisiana Class D & E Drivers Guide.
The guide provides you with information about the rules of the road in Louisiana, penalties for traffic violations, and tips for driving safely.Local Drivers Education
Choose a County
- De Soto
- East Baton Rouge
- East Carroll
- East Feliciana
- Jefferson Davis
- La Salle
- Pointe Coupee
- Red River
- Saint Bernard
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.