Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Drivers with Disabilities in Louisiana

    Disability Placards & Plates in Louisiana

    If you are a Louisiana resident with a temporary or permanent disability, you can apply for a disabled parking permit.

    The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) issues placards (also called hang tags) as well as license plates for people with disabilities.

    More information about disability placards and plates in Louisiana can be found below.

    Types of LA Disability Plates & Placards

    The LA OMV issues both placards (called hang tags by the OMV) and license plates for disabled parking:

    • Placards are issued for both temporary and permanent disabilities.
    • License plates are issued to people with permanent disabilities or anyone who regularly transports a person with a permanent disability.

    NOTE: Handicap parking placard and license plate applications require certification by a medical professional.

    LA Visitors with Disabilities

    The state of Louisiana recognizes handicap parking placards and license plates from all other states.

    When in Louisiana, you are subject to the state’s disabled parking laws.

    Disability Parking Rules

    A handicap parking placard or license plate from the LA Office of Motor Vehicles allows you to park:

    • In spaces designated for people with disabilities.
    • For 2 hours longer than posted time limits (3 hours longer within New Orleans city limits), UNLESS:
      • Parking is prohibited because of traffic.
      • You are parked in a fire lane.
      • Your vehicle is a traffic hazard.

    To use your disability placard correctly:

    • Hang it from your rearview mirror.
      OR
    • Place it on the dashboard if you do not have a mirror.

    You can be fined or jailed for:

    • Loaning your placard to someone else.
    • Using a disabled placard or license plate for parking privileges when the disabled person is not with you.

    Applying for Disability Permits in Louisiana

    You must apply for a disability placard or license plate in person at your local OMV office.

    If your doctor certifies that your disability prevents you from going to the OMV in person, someone else can apply on your behalf. They will need:

    • Your medical certification.
    • A color photo of you.
      AND
    • To be able to answer questions about your disability.

    Placards

    To apply for a temporary or permanent placard in Louisiana, take the following to a Louisiana OMV office:

    You will be issued 1 placard.

    License Plates

    To apply for a disability Louisiana license plate, you’ll need to take the items below to your nearest LA OMV office:

    NOTE: If you are buying a car, you can give your disabled parking permit form to the dealer to submit with the other title and registration forms.

    Disabled Veteran License Plates

    You are eligible for a disabled veteran license plate if you have a disability of at least 50% of your body resulting from your military service.

    The license plate is free; however, you may need to pay a transaction fee.

    To apply for a disabled veteran license plate, you must submit the following in person at a Louisiana OMV office:

    • A copy of your vehicle registration.
    • An affidavit from Veterans Affairs that states you’re eligible for the plate.
    • Payment for the transaction fee: Varies by location.

    Renewing Louisiana Plates & Placards

    All handicap parking permits expire in Louisiana.

    • Temporary placards: Valid for up to 1 year..
    • Permanent placards: Valid for 4 years.
    • Disability license plates: Valid for 2 years.

    To renew a permanent disability placard, you must go in person to a LA OMV office with:

    • Your current placard.
    • Your Louisiana driver’s license or ID card.
    • Payment for the $3 fee (in cash).

    To renew a temporary disability placard, you must re-apply and submit a new medical certification. You can only re-apply once for a temporary placard.

    To renew a handicap license plate, you must renew your vehicle registration.

    Replace a Lousiana Disability Permit

    If your disabled parking placard is lost, stolen, or destroyed, you can apply for a new one at your local Louisiana OMV office.

    You'll need to provide:

    • An explanation of the theft, loss, or damage.
    • Payment for the $3 replacement fee.

    For information about replacing a lost, stolen, or damaged license plate, see our page for lost registrations in Louisiana.

    Other Topics in This Section