Changing Your Name in Louisiana
Louisiana Name Change Package - $29.95
Miss Now Mrs's Name Change Packages automates the completion of the required forms to change your name in Louisiana. Simply complete a quick questionnaire, print out the forms and file them. It couldn't be easier.
Name Change Package
Includes Forms for:
- Drivers License
- Vehicle Title
- Voter Registration
- US Passport
- Bank Notification
- Credit Card Notification
- Insurance Notification
If you change your legal name, you will need to update your Louisiana driver's license, title, and vehicle registration. You can complete this process by visiting your nearest Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).
The name on your birth certificate is generally the name the OMV will use for your driver's license or ID card. However, you can obtain a new one by visiting an OMV office in person under the following circumstances:
- If you've had your name legally changed by a court order, present a certified copy of the court order to the OMV. This can include a divorce decree.
- If you've recently changed your name because of a marriage, present a certified copy of the state-approved marriage license to the OMV.
A certified birth certificate reflecting the name change is adequate proof of identity, but you can also update your Social Security card and present that to the OMV. Visit Social Security Online for information about updating your card.
If you are a new Louisiana resident applying for your first license in the state, the OMV will automatically use the name on your out-of-state license unless you provide documentation supporting an alternative name choice.
When you change your name between license renewal periods, the OMV considers this a request for a duplicate license. The fee to receive a duplicate license is $5, plus an $8 administrative charge and a service fee levied by the OMV office you visit. The duplicate license is valid for the remainder of your original license term. If you change your name when you renew your license, only the usual license renewal fees will apply. You must renew in person if you are also changing the name on your license.
If you need to update your address as well as the name on your driver's license, you can request this change when you apply for a duplicate license. However, Louisiana law states that you should process driver's license address changes within 10 days of moving.
Louisiana law requires all motor vehicles to be correctly titled and registered. If you change your legal name, you should update your title and registration information at your local OMV.
Before you can update your vehicle registration information, you must obtain a new title showing the name change. If you obtained financing for your vehicle, contact the lienholder directly to initiate the name-change process. Otherwise, you should bring documentation of your name change to your nearest OMV office to complete a new title application. The fee for a new vehicle title is $18.50, plus an $8 administrative charge and a service fee.
Once you have a vehicle title showing your new name, you may request a duplicate vehicle registration that shows the correct information. You'll need to provide the OMV with the vehicle identification number (VIN), license plate number, vehicle make and model, and proof of insurance. The fee for a duplicate registration is $12.
If you opt not to update your title and registration information after changing your name, you will need to show proof of your name change before you are allowed to legally sell your vehicle.
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.