Car Insurance in Louisiana
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.
Louisiana Car Insurance
As a resident of Louisiana, you are required to have car insurance. Those who drive without insurance are not only subject to penalties and fines, but being without insurance will also prevent you from making insurance claims regardless of who is at fault in the accident.
Read below to learn more about car insurance requirements, options, laws, and rates in Louisiana.
Insurance Regulation in Louisiana
Louisiana insurance is regulated by the Louisiana Department of Insurance (DOI).
The DOI’s responsibilities include:
- Reviewing and approving insurance rates.
- Making and enforcing insurance rules.
- Assisting consumers with concerns or complaints.
- Investigating insurance fraud.
If you have an unresolved concern or dispute with your car insurance provider, you can file a complaint form online or request a form by phone:
- Complete the online complaint form.
- Contact the DOI at (800) 259-5300.
Your auto insurance company cannot raise your rates or cancel your policy for filing a complaint.
Required Car Insurance in LA
Louisiana state law requires that all drivers have liability coverage.
Liability insurance pays for damages or injuries that you cause in a car accident, up to the amount of coverage you have.
The minimum liability coverage limits required in Louisiana are:
- $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person.
- $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 of property damage coverage.
Remember, you can always opt to purchase higher coverage limits for greater protection.
Insurance and Vehicle Registration
The LA Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) will verify your car insurance electronically if you:
- Register a car bought from a dealer.
- Renew your registration online.
You must provide proof of insurance if you:
- Register a car bought from a private individual.
- Go to an OMV office to renew your registration.
- Transfer an out of state title.
NOTE: New residents must transfer vehicle titles within 30 days of moving to Louisiana.
The OMV accepts the following as proof of insurance:
- An insurance card issued by your auto insurance company.
- A copy of your insurance policy.
- A copy of your policy declaration page.
- A statement from your insurer that MUST:
- Be on your car insurance company’s letterhead.
- Be signed by your insurance agent or a representative of the company.
- Have a complete description of your vehicle.
- Have your vehicle identification number (VIN).
Optional LA Car Insurance
You can buy several additional types of coverage that pay for damage and injury costs not covered by liability insurance:
- Collision coverage: Pays for accident-related repairs to your vehicle.
- Comprehensive coverage: Pays for repairs to your vehicle from damage caused by other factors, such as theft or severe weather.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage: Pays for expenses you incur in an accident caused by someone with no insurance or too little insurance. Types of UIM are:
- UIM bodily injury coverage to pay for your medical treatment.
- UIM property damage coverage to pay for your vehicle repairs.
- UIM economic-only coverage, which pays only for actual costs of medical treatment.It doesn’t cover pain and suffering.
- Medical payments coverage: Pays for medical expenses, including funeral expenses, for a certain period of time after an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
- Rental reimbursement coverage: Pays for a rental car after an accident.
- Towing and labor coverage: Pays for towing and some repair costs.
NOTE: If you finance or lease a vehicle, your lender will require you to buy collision coverage and comprehensive coverage.
Car Insurance Violations & Penalties
The main reasons you might face penalties with regard to insurance are:
- You are unable to provide proof of current insurance.
- Your policy has been canceled.
- There’s been a lapse in your policy.
Proof of Insurance
The Louisiana OMV has several ways to verify your auto insurance:
- Car insurance companies must notify the OMV of canceled or expired car insurance policies.
- You must show proof of insurance if stopped by a police officer or involved in an accident.
Proof of insurance can be shown with:
- An insurance card (or copy) issued by your car insurance company.
- An image of your insurance card on a mobile device.
- The declaration page of your insurance policy.
- The insurance policy itself.
If you are caught driving without proof of insurance, a police officer can either:
- Remove your license plate and give you a Temporary Vehicle Use Authorization, allowing you to operate your car for 3 business days to give you time to provide proof of insurance.
- Impound your vehicle.
Resolving a car insurance violation, e.g., providing your proof of insurance, within 3 business days, will result in lower fines and fees.
Car Insurance Cancelation
Your auto insurance company can cancel your insurance policy within 60 days of purchase.
If your policy is canceled, they must notify you within:
- 10 days, if it’s canceled because you didn’t pay your premium.
- 20 days, if it’s canceled for a traffic violation, accident, or any other reason.
After 60 days, your car insurance policy can be canceled ONLY if:
- You do not pay your insurance premium.
- You make a false claim.
- You or someone in your home gets a driver’s license or vehicle registration suspension.
Again, your insurance company must notify you of any cancelation or nonrenewal:
- Within 10 days if it’s canceled because you didn’t pay your premium.
- Within 30 days by certified mail if it’s canceled for any other reason.
- No later than 20 days prior to expiration if they aren’t renewing your policy.
If your policy is not renewed, you can request the reason in writing and expect a refund of any pre-paid premiums within 30 days.
Reinstating Your Driving Privileges
If your Louisiana car insurance is canceled or has lapsed and you receive a Notice of Violation, you must:
- Acquire minimum liability insurance.
- Take proof of insurance to an OMV office.
- Pay a fine of up to $100 on your first offense. Subsequent offenses can lead to fines up to $700.
- Pay a reinstatement fee (the fee varies depending on the number of days you drove without insurance.)
If you have car insurance but failed to show proof at the time it was requested, you must take your proof of insurance to an OMV office:
- If you show proof within 3 business days, the insurance violation will be dropped and your license plate and/or vehicle will be released.
- If you show proof after 3 business days, you will have to pay a fine before your license plate and/or vehicle are released.
After an insurance violation, you may also be required to get an SR-22 certification (also known as SR22 insurance or proof of future financial responsibility) from your auto insurance provider.
SR-22 certification is a form provided by your car insurance company to the OMV that guarantees coverage for a period of time as determined by the LA OMV.
Your insurance company and the OMV will charge you for SR-22 certification.
If you allow your SR-22 to lapse, you will have to pay a $60 fee to the OMV.
SR-22 certification may also be required to have your driver’s license reinstated if it’s been suspended.
“No Pay, No Play” Law
Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law limits the damages uninsured motorists can collect for property damage and/or personal injuries.
Regardless of who is found at-fault, if you were involved in a car accident while you were behind the wheel, you CANNOT collect:
- The first $25,000 of a property damage claim.
- The first $15,000 of a bodily injury claim.
Note to passengers: If you are the passenger in a car driven by an uninsured driver and are injured, you can still collect damages.
However, if you are a passenger in a car you own (and which you do not have insurance on), you are still prevented from collecting the amounts above.
Remember! Anyone can get into an accident at any time. If you don’t have car insurance, the “No Pay, No Play” law could end up costing you much more than if you’d purchased a car insurance policy.
Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
Insurance violations and other violations on your driving record can make you a high risk to insure, and you may have a hard time finding car insurance.
If you have shopped around and cannot find an auto insurance provider to cover you, the Louisiana Automobile Insurance Plan (LAIP) allows high-risk drivers to get auto insurance from agents who voluntarily participate in the plan.
To get more information about eligibility and participating insurers, contact the LAIP at:
- Phone: (866) 989-9902.
- E-mail: email@example.com.
NOTE: Insurance through the LAIP can be expensive, so be sure you have contacted as many car insurance providers as possible before seeking LAIP assistance.
The Louisiana DOI investigates reports of insurance fraud.
Common forms of fraud include:
- Filing a false or exaggerated claim.
- Providing false information to an insurance company.
You can report fraud by phone at (800) 259-5300. Your name can be kept confidential if you prefer.
Car Insurance Rates in LA
Many factors affect your Louisiana car insurance rates. Insurers use your driving history and other details to rate their risk of insuring you, which determines:
- Your insurance premium.
- Any applicable discounts.
In Louisiana, your car insurance premium may be based on a combination of factors, such as your:
- Age and gender: Younger, male drivers usually have the highest premiums.
- Residential area: Residents of major cities usually have higher premiums than those of less populated areas.
- Car’s make and model: More economical cars are typically cheaper to insure than expensive cars.
- Driving record: Tickets or accidents can raise your rates.
- Deductibles: Choosing a higher deductible can reduce your premiums.
Louisiana law allows insurance companies to use your credit in determining your ability to pay insurance premiums.
Auto Insurance Discounts
In addition to these factors, you may qualify for discounts. Louisiana car insurance companies commonly offer discounts for:
- Safety equipment like air bags or car alarms.
- Defensive driving courses or driver’s education courses.
- Good grades.
- Insuring multiple cars or buying multiple policies.
To find the most affordable rates from companies that offer discounts you qualify for, shop around for the best car insurance quotes, ask about available discounts, and drive safely to maintain a good driving record.Choose a State:
Local Auto Insurance
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
Choose a County
- De Soto
- East Baton Rouge
- East Carroll
- East Feliciana
- Jefferson Davis
- La Salle
- Pointe Coupee
- Red River
- Saint Bernard
- Shop For Insurance Online
- Insurance State Requirements
Auto Insurance Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Top Reasons To Buy Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Types Of Auto Insurance Coverage
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Online Commercial Auto Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Online Motorcycle Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- Auto Insurance Glossary
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims