Traffic Tickets in KentuckyInstant Kentucky Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.Page Overview
Continue reading this page to learn how to respond to your Kentucky traffic ticket.
NOTE: Failure to pay or respond to your traffic ticket by the due date may result in additional fees and a driver's license suspension.
Traffic ticket fines and court fees in Kentucky vary by offense and district court. To determine how much your violation will cost, refer to your KY traffic ticket or contact the district court handling your case.
If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), see Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers below.
After you’re convicted of a traffic violation in Kentucky, points will be added to your driving record. These points will remain on your record for 2 years and can result in an increase in your car insurance rates.
In some cases, you may be eligible to complete traffic school to dismiss a traffic ticket. The KY court handling your case should notify you of your eligibility.
Depending on your district court, you may be able to pay your Kentucky traffic ticket fine:
- Harlan, Logan, and Menifee counties do not participate.
- Additional $6 fee for credit cards transactions.
- By mail.
- In person.
Be sure to submit your payment before the deadline shown on your ticket to avoid additional fines/penalties.
NOTE: Pay special attention to whether a court appearance is mandatory. This information should be printed on your traffic ticket.
To fight your Kentucky traffic ticket, you’ll likely need to appear in court.
Check your KY traffic ticket for specific instructions on how to proceed. If you do not have your ticket, please contact the traffic court handling your ticket for more information.
If you’ve lost your Kentucky traffic ticket, you may be able to find it online. Simply use the “Search By Party” option.
If you can’t find your traffic ticket information online, contact the district court in the KY county where you received it.
If you received a traffic ticket as a commercial driver, you must notify your employer (and the KY Division of Motor Vehicle Licensing for out-of-state tickets) within 30 days of being convicted.
As a commercial driver, you may receive harsher penalties for committing a traffic violation. Some major violations can result in a CDL suspension of 1 year, such as:
- Refusing a blood, breath, or urine test.
- Being under the influence of a controlled substance.
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- The commission of a felony using a commercial vehicle (dispensing, distributing or making a controlled substance is included).
- A fatality caused by the negligent use of a commercial vehicle.
- Driving a commercial vehicle after being disqualified or when your commercial license has been revoked, suspended or cancelled.
If you still have questions, visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information about the following topics:Other Topics in This Section