Traffic School in Kentucky
On this page you’ll find information about traffic school/defensive driving courses in Kentucky, your options for completing a course, and the steps to take when you’re finished.
Completing a Kentucky traffic school course will allow you to dismiss your traffic ticket and avoid accumulating points on your driving record.
You’ll be eligible to take a traffic school course as long as you:
- Have received a ticket for a minor traffic violation.
- Do not have a suspended driver’s license.
- Have been referred by your traffic court.
NOTE: You can only complete Kentucky traffic school to dismiss a ticket once every 12 months.
If you are required to take traffic school/defensive driving, you should receive details about your deadlines and document requirements from your court and the Kentucky DMV.
If you choose to complete traffic school online or by using a DVD (see “ Kentucky Traffic School Course Details” below), you must finish the program within 30 days of enrollment, or your driver’s license may be suspended.
If you choose a classroom course, you must enroll within 30 days of being referred to avoid a suspended driver’s license.
NOTE: If you are not eligible to take traffic school, your ticket will not be dismissed and the Kentucky DMV may add points to your driving record. Too many points can lead to a driver’s license suspension.
For more information, please visit our pages on the following topics:
You’ll have the option of completing your defensive driving course:
- At home using a DVD/video.
- Order the DVD online or call (800) 505-5095.
- In person (in a classroom).
The Kentucky DMV provides a complete list of classroom defensive driving courses and enrollment links.
Your traffic school program will cover topics including:
- Defensive driving techniques.
- Safe driving attitudes and behaviors.
- Kentucky traffic laws, violations, and driving record points.
- Driver’s licensing procedures.
- Traffic safety facts.
- Avoiding and preventing accidents.
- Alcohol/drug offenses.
Your traffic school course will generally take at least 4 hours to complete.
At the end of your class, you’ll likely need to pass a final exam.
Once you pass your exam, you will either receive a completion certificate or your traffic school provider will electronically submit your completion information to the Kentucky DMV or court.
For more details about what you’ll need to submit when you complete defensive driving, please contact:
- The Kentucky DMV.
- Your traffic court.
- Your car insurance provider.
The fees to complete a traffic school course in Kentucky varies depending on the method you choose:
- Online: $47.50.
- DVD/video: $47.50.
- Classroom: $15.
Choose a County
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!