- Location: Kentucky
Renewing Your License in Kentucky
Renewing your driver license?
Perfect time to compare car insurance rates.
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
Driving requires a valid driver’s license, so don’t let yours expire without getting a renewal. Renewals are discussed further down in this article.
You must also have a minimum amount of insurance to cover yourself and the other driver, or else be fined and get your license taken away. Read our Insurance Center for more information.
Class D regular driver’s licenses and motorcycle licenses expire every 4 years unless you’re younger than 21. If you are younger than 21, your license expires 90 days after your 21st birthday.
Commercial drivers abide by a different schedule and rules.
If you’re not sure whether your license is still valid or what class it falls into, perform a simple driving records check on yourself.
If you let your license expire, you have one year to go in and renew it after its expiration date with no penalties, just the same $20 fee. Once a year passes, you’ll have to retake the vision and written tests.
Look at your driving record if you need to see what your license status is.
If you've been getting a lot of tickets in the past couple of years, your license could be getting close to being suspended or revoked. To find out, check your records. If your license is suspended for less than one year, you won't have to take any tests to reinstate it. If it’s been more than a year, you must retake the vision and written tests.
Drivers who have had their licenses suspended for five years or more will have to start the application process all over as a new driver, including retaking all tests.
After you get to drive again, you may find that your insurance rate has skyrocketed. Now might be a good time to check with other insurance companies for better deals.
Losing a license and being without identification is not a good situation, so get a new one right away.
Your renewal notice will contain the expiration date and whether any tests are due. The notice will go to the address on record.
You can pay for your renewal up to six months ahead of its actual expiration, whether or not you get a renewal notice that far in advance.
There is no online renewal.
Everyone (except active-duty military away from the state) must renew in person. It will cost $20; you don’t have to bring in any additional identification.
Go to a Circuit Court Clerk’s office to do so.
The more years you’ve been on the road, the easier it is to forget what the actual traffic laws are. Taking a refresher course is an excellent idea. Plus, a lot of insurance companies offer discounts if you take a class.
Get out your insurance policy to check if your company has this discount. If it doesn’t, now could be a good time to do some online shopping at our Insurance Center to see if there are better rates out there.Other Topics in This SectionArticles