Drivers Ed in KentuckyPage Overview
Driver’s Education in Kentucky
A driver’s education course teaches prospective drivers all about driver safety and awareness while on the road. If you’re a teenager, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that you complete Driver’s Ed, or a Graduated Licensing Program (GLP) course, before obtaining your unrestricted KY driver’s license.
Completing Driver’s Ed will not only give you the knowledge to be a safer driver in Kentucky, but it may also reduce your insurance premiums, depending on your provider.
Your course is designed to prepare you to begin gaining driving experience behind the wheel with a supervisor and to take on the challenges of passing the DMV driving test and driving by yourself.
On this page you'll find information about your driver's education requirements in Kentucky, your options for enrolling in a course, and the next steps to take towards your first driver's license.
You must have your Kentucky learner’s permit to be able to take driver’s education. To obtain your learner’s permit, you must:
- Be 16 years old or older.
- Pass a written/permit test.
- Pass a vision exam.
NOTE: You can take Driver’s Ed at any time while you hold your KY learner’s permit or intermediate driver’s license.
The Kentucky GLP course consists of 4 hours of classroom instruction, covering topics including:
- Making responsible choices while driving.
- Driver licensing laws.
- The effects of alcohol while driving.
The GLP education course does not include any hands-on driving.
Driver’s education in Kentucky will cover similar topics and may include both classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel instruction. Contact your course provider for specific information.
Generally, you'll cover topics including:
- Safe driving habits and attitudes.
- Defensive driving techniques.
- Kentucky traffic laws and violations.
- Alcohol/drug abuse, violations, and consequences.
- The Kentucky DMV licensing process.
Additionally, your behind-the-wheel component will prepare you to begin driving outside of your driver's education course and eventually gain the skills necessary to ace your driving test.
In Kentucky, you have the option to complete either:
- The Graduated License Program course.
- A driver’s education course at your Kentucky high school, community college, vocational school, or job corps.
Driver’s Ed course schedules and costs will vary depending on your provider. Contact them directly for more information. You will not be charged for the GLP course.Don't Forget an Online Practice Test
An ideal complement to your Driver’s Ed course is preparing for the written exam with a Kentucky online practice test. These industry-leading study helpers will help you pass the test on your first try.
Once you complete your Driver’s Ed course in Kentucky, your course provider will automatically notify the Transportation Cabinet on your behalf. The next step in the Kentucky GDL program is to get your learner's permit or intermediate driver’s license.
For more information, refer to our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Kentucky page.
Local Drivers Education
Choose a County
Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸