Car Insurance in Kentucky
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.
Kentucky Car Insurance
In Kentucky, car insurance is mandatory, and the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) is focused on reducing the number of uninsured drivers in the state.
If you are found to be driving without current auto insurance, you are subject to a number of penalties, so make sure you understand your responsibilities.
Kentucky Car Insurance Requirements
In order to meet the state requirements for car insurance in Kentucky, you’ll need to have at least the following types of liability insurance:
- Bodily injury liability insurance – This coverage pays for costs related to any injuries or fatalities you cause as a result of an accident.
- Property damage liability insurance – This coverage encompasses any damage you cause to someone else’s property.
- This may be combined with bodily injury coverage into single limit liability (SLL) coverage.
Kentucky requires that you hold these coverage types at the following minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury, per person.
- $50,000 for total bodily injury, per accident.
- $10,000 for property damage.
Note to new residents: If you’re new to the state, you must have at least these minimums on your vehicle within 15 days of establishing residency.
Consider Additional Coverage
Even though you are only legally required to hold the minimum coverage amounts in Kentucky, you might find that this won’t sufficiently cover your costs in the event of an accident.
Read below to find out about optional coverage types that can offer further protection.
Another type of additional coverage that can save you a ton of money if you cause an accident is no-fault insurance, or Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage.
Kentucky mandates that all vehicle insurance policies include PIP coverage with the exception of motorcycle insurance policies.
This insurance coverage pays up to $10,000 per person, per accident for injury-related expenses, regardless of who was deemed to be at fault for the accident. (You can always choose to pay for higher benefits.)
Limitations on Right to Sue or Be Sued
When you get PIP coverage with your car insurance, you accept certain limits on your right to sue and be sued.
Someone who’s been injured in an accident cannot seek to recover any of the following from the at-fault party*:
- Medical expenses.
- Loss of wages.
- Pain and suffering.
- Other related costs.
* Exception: You can recover expenses if the injuries exceed specific thresholds ($1,000 in medical costs, a broken bone, permanent injury or disfigurement, or death).
Rejection of Your Right to Sue Limits
You do have the right to reject the limitations on your right to sue; however it must be in writing on a no-fault rejection form submitted to the Department of Insurance. If you reject the limits, PIP protection will NOT be provided to you.
If all of the members in one household reject their limitations, then guest PIP coverage must be on the policy to provide PIP to guest passengers and pedestrians.
Note that if you do reject these limitations, your liability insurance will likely be more expensive.
Optional Car Insurance in KY
In order to make sure you can cover the costs involved in an accident, you may want to supplement your car insurance with one or more of the following optional coverage types:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or an object.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages to your vehicle that result from events other than a car accident, such as fire, vandalism, theft, etc.
- Underinsured Motorist (UIM) – Covers bodily injury to you or your passengers when the costs exceed the insured’s policy limits. Costs are covered up to the UIM limits.
- Uninsured Motorists (UM) – Covers injuries to you or your passengers when you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured driver (or you are a victim of a hit-and-run). Costs are covered up to the UM limits.
NOTE: In the event that you loan or lease a car, you may be required to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage.
Proof of Insurance
When driving, you should have your Kentucky proof of insurance (insurance card) and your registration in the car. If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked by an officer, you’ll be subject to fines and penalties.
Electronic Verification at Registration
In order to register your vehicle or renew your registration, you’ll have to have current insurance. The KYTC will verify that you have at least the minimum requirements using the Kentucky Insurance System.
All insurance companies licensed to sell car insurance in KY must submit a record of all policies in effect at the time. The KYTC verifies your insurance using this monthly record.
If your provider doesn’t submit proof of your current insured status, you’ll need to show current proof for manual verification when you register.
KY Insurance Violations
In Kentucky, you must have insurance to drive a vehicle in the state. If you are found to be driving without current car insurance, you are subject to any or all of the following:
- Fines of up to $1,000.
- Up to 90 days of jail time.
- Suspension of your license plates.
- Placement in the “high-risk” category of drivers by your insurance company.
- This will make getting insurance difficult (see “Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan” below).
Cancellation of Your Policy
If your insurance policy is canceled or discontinued for some reason, you must renew your policy or find a new one right away; otherwise, you risk being ticketed.
Aside from the penalties listed above that you face for driving uninsured, you also face the cancellation of your registration by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC).
If your insurance has been discontinued, your status will be monitored by the KYTC. Your registration will be canceled 30 days after receipt of an Uninsured Notice from the KYTC.
You will not be able to re-register your vehicle until you can provide current proof of insurance to your County Clerk.
In order to contact the KYTC about an Uninsured Notice, call (502) 564-1257 and make the following selections (in the following order):
- Option 3 to get the Division of Motor Vehicle Licensing.
- Option 2 for Registration & Mandatory Insurance.
- Option 2 for Mandatory Insurance.
Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan
In some cases, you might find it difficult to get an insurance policy on the standard market, especially if you are deemed a “high-risk” driver due to insurance violations, accidents, and/or a poor driving record.
If you are unable to find an insurance policy through the standard market, you can obtain insurance through the Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan (KAIP).
Applying through the KAIP will typically lead to higher premiums, so it’s best to shop for car insurance quotes in the standard market prior to using this route.
You can apply through the KAIP by contacting any insurance agent.
Other Car Insurance Issues
If you encounter any problems with your car insurance in Kentucky, there are avenues to deal with these issues.
Questions and Concerns
If you have a concern, you can visit the Kentucky Department of Insurance website or contact them:
- By e-mail: email@example.com.
- By phone:
- (502) 564-3630.
- Toll-free: (800) 595-6053.
- TTY: (800) 648-6056.
Filing a Complaint
Car Insurance Fraud
Car insurance fraud costs insurance companies a significant amount of money, and those costs get passed along to consumers in the form of higher insurance premiums.
In order to keep costs low for everyone, it’s important to report fraud. The Kentucky DOI makes reporting insurance fraud easy. Simply visit their website and download the Report Fraud Form (Form FD-1) or call any of the phone numbers listed on the site.
Determining Your Car Insurance Premium
Kentucky car insurance companies determine your rates by looking at many factors. These include:
- Your car’s make and model.
- The number of drivers and their ages.
- Your Kentucky driving record.
- How close you are to the nearest hospital.
- The number of accidents in your area.
- Your credit score.
- Population density in your area.
- Local auto repair rates.
Remember, different providers will take different factors into consideration, so it’s smart to thoroughly comparison shop for auto insurance quotes before purchasing an insurance policy.
Car Insurance Discounts
Insurance companies in Kentucky offer a number of discounts to drivers. These include:
- Good driver.
- Good student.
- Multiple policies.
- Low mileage.
- Anti-theft device.
Always investigate what discounts for which you might be eligible. It can save you a lot of money in the long run. However, be aware that the best way to maintain low-cost car insurance is to drive safely on a consistent basis and keep your insurance current.Choose a State:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island