Salesperson License in Kentucky
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Before you begin the motor vehicle salesperson application process, take note of the following:
- You must have a motor vehicle salesperson license in order to legally sell vehicles in Kentucky.
- Dealers are at risk for penalty anytime one of their salespersons can't produce a license for a MVC representative.
- If you've ever been convicted of a criminal offense, you must include details with the salesperson application.
Simply put, you begin the application process when a dealer hires you, or is considering hiring you. You'll obtain your salesperson application directly from the dealer. The dealer orders these applications from the Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).
You must complete the application in triplicate. Your dealer will return the three application copies, along with the $20 license fee, to:
- Motor Vehicle Commission
- 407 Wapping St.
- Frankfort, KY 40601
Salesperson License Fee
The salesperson license fee is $20. If you're viewing the Kentucky MVC website and it still reads that $10 must accompany each copy of the application, it's because the new information hasn't been updated yet.
There is no application deadline. Because your dealer submits your application, he or she can do so at two different times:
- When it's time for your dealer to renew his or her dealer license.
- At any other time during the year when the dealer takes on new salespersons.
Waiting Period and Temporary Permit
There is no temporary permit for motor vehicle salespersons in Kentucky; you must wait until your license arrives. At the same time, there is no real estimated waiting period, as many factors go into processing your application.
You'll renew your KY salesperson license once a year, before the end of the year. When the time draws near, you'll receive renewal instructions and information about fees. Your dealer can provide you with more specific information.
The Kentucky MVC doesn't offer a traditional duplicate salesperson license. If you lose your license, or it becomes damaged or destroyed, your dealer is responsible for getting you through the entire application process again―and yes, this includes the same $20 fee.
You can find more information about obtaining a motor vehicle salesperson license and properly selling vehicles here at DMV.org and when you visit the Kentucky MVC. Below are a few specific Web pages to help you get started:
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.