Personal Injury in Kentucky
Many personal injuries, whether physical or mental, occur because of another person's negligence or harmful acts. These personal injuries can devastate your life, and the lives of your family members, friends, and other loved ones.
If you or a loved one is suffering from a personal injury, there's good news―you may be entitled to compensation.
You are probably familiar with the seemingly hundreds of commercials advertising personal injury attorneys. Admittedly, many of these commercials appear tacky and unprofessional; however, personal injury attorneys can protect you from being taken advantage of by an insurance company. They can negotiate payment from insurance companies and bills from hospitals.
If you or a loved one is suffering from a personal injury and want to seek legal advice, do it as soon as possible.
Whether you're a pedestrian, driver, or passenger, there are ways you can protect yourself and others. Below are some laws and additional tips to keep yourself and others protected against and in the event of personal injuries.
- Make sure you have adequate automobile insurance. Find out if you have insurance that will cover you if another party is at fault for an accident and insurance that will cover another party if you are at fault for an accident.
- Make sure you are covered by underinsured and uninsured motorist protection. Underinsured coverage protects you if the other party involved in the accident doesn't have enough insurance to adequately compensate you for your injuries and damages. Uninsurance coverage protects you if the other party involved in the accident doesn't have any insurance at all.
- Make sure you notify your insurance company of any accidents in a timely manner.
The Kentucky Drivers Manual is a great resource for how to handle vehicle collisions. Steps include:
- Stop and park your vehicle at the accident scene and wait for the police; you'll need to contact the police if the damage is $500 or more and/or there is an injury or death.
- Record the names and addresses of everyone involved, including witnesses.
- Record the names and addresses of all drivers involved, as well as all vehicle information (year, make, model, license plate, and registration number) and all insurance information (company name and number).
- Make a list of all vehicle damages.
- If there are any seriously injured accident victims, call immediately for help. Never move an accident victim yourself unless it is a life-threatening emergency―wait for trained professionals.
Note that if you are involved in a collision that results in $500 or more in damages and a police investigation is not conducted, you'll need to obtain and complete an accident report provided by the Kentucky State Police and return it within 10 days of the collision to:
- Kentucky State Police
- 1250 Louisville Road
MOST FREQUENTLY VISITED SECTIONS
- Frankfort, KY 40601
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing