Ticket Fines and Penalties in Kansas
Kansas traffic tickets fines vary by violation, but the fines for most violations are statewide and set by the Kansas Legislature.
For example, improper passing costs $75, no matter the location; likewise, failing to yield to an emergency vehicle costs $195 everywhere in the state.
You can check your ticket for your specific traffic ticket fine, as well as the state’s Uniform Fine Schedule for Traffic Infractions.
Speeding fines vary, and you can find them at Fine and Cost Schedule for Speeding Violations.
Iff the officer didn’t list a fine, it means there is no state-mandated fine or that other circumstances go into determining the fine. At this point, you must contact your court for an exact number.
Court Costs and Other Surcharges
Overall, court costs are the same―or don’t vary by much―throughout the state.
Currently, the Kansas docket fee is $98. Any other court-related cost is up to the court.
There are two kinds of DUI surcharges: DUI fines and administrative penalties.
- First Offense: $500-$1,000
- Second Offense: $1,000-$1,500
- Third Offense: $1,500-$2,500
- Fourth Offense: $2,500
NOTE: These fines are in addition to court costs.
For DUI cases, administrative penalties―or costs―refer to the license reinstatement fees a driver must pay.
- First Offense: $100
- Second Offense: $200
- Third Offense: $300
- Fourth Offense: $400
Fines are just the beginning. For more information about other DUI-related penalties, refer to KS DUI.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine, possibly online.
- Risk license suspension or revocation, depending on number and nature of violation.
- Pay higher auto insurance rates.
- Possibly attend a traffic school to satisfy ticket and get insurance discount.
Learn more about
Paying your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty or Nolo Contendere)
- Contest your ticket and schedule a hearing.
- Present your case, possible with a traffic ticket attorney.
- Gain no penalties if found not guilty (except applicable court/attorney fees).
- Appeal the guilty verdict (if applicable).
Learn more about
Fighting your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
You might as well consider increased auto insurance rates as part of the overall costs associated with traffic violations.
However, there’s good news about increased rates: You can work to offset or avoid them.Compare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Fines, court costs, and other surcharges―the proverbial buck doesn’t stop there.
Kansas will suspend, revoke, or cancel your driver’s license for certain violations.
KS Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, Withdrawal, and Cancellation
License Suspension: You lose your driving privileges for up to one year.
License Revocation: You lose your driving privileges for longer than one year.
License Cancellation: Permanent loss of driving privileges. Less common that suspensions and revocations.
Check the “Your Driver License” section of the Kansas Driving Handbook to learn more about how you can lose your driving privileges.
For now, moving violation examples include:
- DUI-related convictions.
- Reckless driving.
- Attempting to elude a police officer.
- Failing to stop and render aid during an accident involving injury or death.
- Commission of a felony involving a vehicle.
- Vehicular battery.
- Aggravated vehicular homicide.
Violation Accumulation Penalties
You also face license suspension for accumulating three moving violations within a 12-month period.
Penalties for Drivers Younger than 21
DUI (for you, driving with a BAC of 0.02% or higher) means an automatic 30-day license suspension, followed by 330 days of restricted driving privileges.
Penalties for Drivers Younger than 16
If you’re younger than 16, have a restricted driver’s license, and get two or more moving violations, your license remains restricted until you turn 17 years old.
Penalties for Kansas Commercial Drivers
Notify your employer within 30 days of receiving a traffic violation.
The following are federally-mandated penalties:
The following major offenses result in a one-year license suspension or disqualification:
- Driving any vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or higher.
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Refusing a sobriety test.
- Leaving an accident scene.
- Committing a felony with the vehicle.
- Driving a CMV with a suspended, revoked, or canceled CDL.
- Negligent driving resulting in fatality.
The following are considered serious offenses:
- Speeding 15 miles or more over the limit.
- Driving recklessly.
- Changing lanes improperly.
- Following too closely behind another vehicle.
- Driving a CMV without having a CDL.
- Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession.
- Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement.
- Violating a state law of texting while driving.
If you’re convicted of a:
- Second offense, you’ll lose your license for 60 days.
- Third offense, you’ll lose your license for 120 days.
If you violate a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting―
Instant Kansas Driving Record
- Nonhazardous materials, or
- Hazardous materials required to be placarded, or while driving a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers.
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.Other Topics in This SectionRecommended Articles Next Prev
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- Contesting an Out-of-State Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket Myths: What’s Fact and What’s Fiction?
- Using Witnesses When Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- The Pros and Cons of Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
- Attending Traffic School for an Auto Insurance Discount
- Types of Traffic Schools
- Attending Traffic School for a Traffic Ticket
- Handling a Lost Parking Ticket
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- How to Do An Online Warrant Search
- How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
- What happens if I’m younger than 16 and get a traffic conviction?
- What happens if I’m younger than 21 and get a DUI conviction?
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
Can't find something? Let us help you find it!