Traffic Ticket FAQ in Kansas
- What do I do if get a traffic ticket in KS?
- How do I know if a Municipal Court or District Court has my ticket?
- Do I have to appear in court?
- How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
- What if I have a Kansas CDL and get a traffic ticket?
- What happens if I'm younger than 16 and get a traffic conviction?
- What happens if I'm younger than 21 and get a DUI conviction?
- Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
- What is the total cost of my traffic ticket?
- Are traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
- How can I find a lost traffic ticket online?
- When should I hire a traffic ticket attorney?
- Does Kansas have a point system?
- How can the state suspend or revoke my license with no point system?
What do I do if get a traffic ticket in KS?
Determine whether you want to plead guilty, no contest, or not guilty.
You must decide before the date printed on your ticket. That's the date by which you must either pay your fine (plead guilty or no contest) or notify the court you want a hearing to fight the charge.
How do I know if a Municipal Court or District Court has my ticket?
Your citation will include the information, but it's helpful for you to know that Municipal Courts handle city-level tickets and District Courts handle county- and state-level tickets.
Do I have to appear in court?
Only if your ticket indicates a court appearance is required or you want to fight the ticket.
NOTE: Generally, if your citation doesn't include a ticket fine, you must appear in court.
How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
- Plead not guilty, fight the ticket in court, and win your case.
- Attend a court-approved traffic school.
The latter is only an option if your court says so, so contact your court for approval before you try to enroll in a school.
What if I have a Kansas CDL and get a traffic ticket?
Note that if you plead or are found guilty, you must notify your employer within 30 days. Also, depending on the violation, you'll have some serious penalties to deal with.
What happens if I'm younger than 16 and get a traffic conviction?
You'll have to pay fines and court costs like anyone else, but overall you'll be okay―if it's just one.
What happens if I'm younger than 21 and get a DUI conviction?
Driving with a BAC of 0.02% to 0.08% results in a license suspension of 30 days. A subsequent offense will result in a suspension for 1 year.
Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
Order a copy of your driving record to make sure:
- You're not too close to license suspension. You can lose your license for accumulating 3 violations within 12 months.
- It doesn't record any violation for which you attended a court-approved traffic school for ticket dismissal.
Grab a copy of yours at KS Driving Records.
What is the total cost of my traffic ticket?
Generally, the total cost is the ticket fine plus court costs, but other circumstances―such as DUI fines―can impact your overall cost.
Are traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
The Kansas State Legislature determines the fines for most traffic violations and those fines vary by violation but are the same throughout the state.
Your officer includes your fine (or fines) on your citation. Refer to Ticket Fines and Penalties for more information.
No fine? That means you have to appear in court for your ticket fine and court costs total.
How can I find a lost traffic ticket online?
Kansas doesn't have an online traffic ticket search in place, but the courts will provide you with all the information you need.
Head over to Lost KS Traffic Tickets to get started.
When should I hire a traffic ticket attorney?
Consider hiring a traffic ticket attorney whenever:
- You want professional help preparing and presenting your case.
- You're uncomfortable speaking for yourself in a courtroom setting.
- You face serious charges, such as those related to DUI, vehicular manslaughter, and commission of a felony.
Note that an attorney also can help you file any required paperwork, reschedule or postpone your hearing, and file an appeal.
Does Kansas have a point system?
How can the state suspend or revoke my license with no point system?
Just because there are no points on your driving record doesn't mean there are no violations. The state records your violations, and if you reach 3 violations within 12 months, you face license suspension.
Kansas can suspend or revoke your driver's license for a variety of other reasons, too, like DUI violations, reckless driving, and vehicular manslaughter. Learn more at KS Suspended License.
Have Pledged to Not Drive Distracted.