Suspended License in Kansas
Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the DOR. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Kansas is strong on traffic laws and is tough on those who commit multiple infractions. One of the methods for handling those drivers with repeat or major traffic offenses is the suspension of the individual's driver's license.
- A suspended license means that the driving privileges have been stopped for a period of one year or less.
- A revoked license is one for which the driving privileges have been stopped for more than one year.
- A canceled license is one that is permanently withdrawn; a person whose license has been canceled may not be issued another driver's license in the United States.
These are a few of the reasons that a driver's license might be suspended in Kansas:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Refusing to take a blood alcohol test
- Driving without liability insurance
- Reckless driving
- Leaving the scene of an injury accident
- Not paying a driving-related fine
- Failure to appear in traffic court
- Not filing an accident report
If your license was suspended due to an insurance matter, you have since obtained vehicle insurance, and your insurance agent has filled out any forms required, you may have your license reinstated online.
Some of the driving infractions that can cause automatic revocation of a driver's license are:
- Vehicular homicide
- Driving while your driver's license is suspended or revoked
- Any felony in which a motor vehicle was used
- Failure to stop at the scene of an accident and perform duties required by statute
- Being convicted of not maintaining motor vehicle insurance
Once your license has been suspended or revoked, you will be asked to turn it in to the court. The court then sends the license to the DMV, where it gets registered in the system and held until the suspension or revocation expires.
When your suspension has ended, you will be required to apply for a new license, as if you have never had a driver's license before. If you pass all the required first-time driver testing and pay all fees and fines that are due, the driver's license that you surrendered to the court will be returned to you, and your license number will stay the same.
Once your driver's license is suspended, there are absolutely no exceptions. Kansas does not grant hardship licenses, so if your license is suspended, you will not be permitted to drive again until your suspension time has been completed.
Driving while your license is suspended or revoked is a major offense that can lead to the cancellation of your license. A first conviction can result in a fine as much as $1,000 or you may be sentenced to jail for up to six months, or both. A second conviction results in a jail sentence of up to one year, plus a fine of $2,500, or both.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.