Safety Laws in Kansas
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Child restraint laws in Kansas have four key components:
- Children must ride in a rear-facing child safety seat until they are at least one year old and 20 pounds.
- Children between the ages of one and three must ride in forward-facing child safety seat.
- Children between the ages of four and seven must ride in a booster seat unless they weigh more than 80 pounds, are taller than 4 feet 9 inches, or are traveling in a vehicle where only a lap belt is available.
- Children between the ages of eight and 13 must be wearing a seatbelt whenever the vehicle is in motion.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
If you need help making sure your child safety seat or booster seat is correctly installed, visit one of the many free fitting stations located throughout the state. If you can't afford a child safety seat or booster seat, the fitting stations also have information on programs available to assist low-income families in obtaining this important piece of safety equipment.
In addition to being aware of child restraint laws, parents should also remember that Kansas law also forbids children under age 14 from riding in any part of a vehicle not intended for passengers, such as the bed of a pickup truck.
Did you know that National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has estimated that 30% of all traffic deaths occur in crashes where least one driver had a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .10% or more? Since drunk driving is a significant safety hazard to all Kansas residents, you are encouraged to call 911 if you spot a driver who is doing some or all of the following:
- Drifting into opposing traffic
- Almost striking another vehicle or a stationary object
- Driving outside legally designated roadways
- Excessively swerving or weaving across the road
- Improper signaling
- Erratic and sudden braking
When you call to report a suspected drunk driver, you'll be asked to describe your location, the vehicle, and any suspicious behaviors you have witnessed. An officer will then be sent to the scene to investigate. Do not attempt to take any action by yourself, since an intoxicated person may become violent when confronted.
Headlights are an important, yet often overlooked, piece of safety equipment for your motor vehicle. You should use your headlights whenever it is difficult to see other vehicles on the road, such as dawn, dusk, or during poor weather. You should use low-beam headlights when other vehicles are approaching.
Bicyclists who wish to travel on the state's roads at night must have a white headlight that is visible up to 500 feet.
Cell phone usage is banned for all learner permit and intermediate license holders.
Texting is illegal for all drivers of all ages.
While motorcycle helmets are strongly encouraged, helmets are only legally required in Kansas for those age 17 and younger.
Bicycle helmets are only legally required for riders under the age of 16 who live in Lawrence.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation
- Safety Laws On Children, Pets, and Vehicles
- Bicycle Safety Laws: Learn Your State’s Helmet Laws, Traffic Laws, and More
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.