Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Kansas
To ride legally in Kansas, you must carry proof of financial responsibility. For most riders this means having motorcycle insurance.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
The state gives you two insurance choices:
- Opting for self-insurance. For more information, contact the Kansas Insurance Department.
- Liability insurance (see below for more information).
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
If you're unclear on whether your bike requires registration (which would then mandate insurance coverage), call the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (785) 296-3621.
Kansas Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
In order to fulfill Kansas' motorcycle insurance requirements, you must have liability insurance to help cover costs associated with property damage or bodily injuries suffered by others in a crash for which you are found at fault.
Your motorcycle insurance policy must include the following :
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
- $10,000 per accident for property damage.
These are just the required minimums. You do have to option of purchasing higher limits at an increased rate. You may find that the higher prices are worth the financial protection. This is especially true if you own assets that can be lost in a lawsuit after an accident.
Before settling on a carrier, take the time to shop around for an affordable rate. Most companies can provide you with a motorcycle insurance quote within minutes.
NOTE: While Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is required for auto owners, it is not required for motorcyclists. If you opt against it, you must submit your decision in writing.
Since liability insurance only covers other people's property damage or injuries, you may find that by just meeting the state's requirements you are not getting enough protection out of your motorcycle insurance policy. To expand the reaches of your policy, you might want to consider purchasing optional coverages.
Common types of motorcycle insurance coverage include:
- Comprehensive - This will help pay for several types of non-accident related damages.
- Collision - If you get into a crash, this coverage will help pay to fix your bike.
- Medical payments - This coverage type will help with medical costs if you are hurt in an accident.
- Towing and labor - If you bike breaks down, this coverage can help with emergency roadside assistance and towing.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
There are no insurance discounts for wearing a helmet. As is, helmets are only required for riders under 18.
Acceptable Proof of Insurance Financial Responsibility
Even though carriers are obligated to notify the DMV of your motorcycle insurance status, you still must carry one of the following forms of proof when riding:
- A certificate of self-insurance.
- An insurance identification card provided by your insurance company.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
Not having proof of insurance is a misdemeanor. Penalties can include fines, a possible license suspension, and a revoked registration.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!