DUI Attorneys in Kansas
If you were arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in Kansas, you may want to start searching for a DUI attorney. Since a DUI could result in serious consequences, hiring an attorney may give you the best chance to reduce your penalties.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Continue reading for guidance on hiring a DUI attorney in Kansas.
You may find a number of DUI lawyers in Kansas who can represent you in court for your criminal DUI charges. Here are some tips to help you select the right one for you:
- Get a referral. Someone in your network may know of a good DUI lawyer.
- Find a lawyer who specializes in DUI charges. You'll want to hire someone with expertise in DUI/DWI cases.
- Stay local. Hiring a lawyer who has experience with local Kansas courts and law enforcement may give you an advantage.
- Call multiple DUI attorneys. Consultations are normally free, so set aside some time to meet with a number of DUI attorneys.
- Ask about fees. Before deciding on a DUI attorney, find out about all applicable fees and due dates.
Charges Handled by DUI Attorneys
The charges you face with a DUI offense will depend on your age, driving history, and the severity of your offense. You can be charged with a DUI in Kansas if you:
- Drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more.
- Drive with a BAC 0.02% or more and you are younger than 21 years old.
- Refuse a BAC test.
- NOTE: Even if you're found “not guilty" of driving with a BAC of over the legal limit, you can still lose your driver's license for refusing to submitting to the BAC test.
When you're looking for a lawyer in Kansas, be sure to ask whether they've handled similar DUI cases before.
If you're facing DUI charges in Kansas, you'll need to ensure your case goes smoothly. A DUI lawyer can do all of the following:
- Appear in court to represent you.
- Advise you on your best plea option.
- Submit all mandatory paperwork to the court.
- Answer your questions about the court process and your case.
While you can ask about your chances for a dismissal or a reduced DUI charge, an attorney will NOT be able to guarantee any outcomes.
A DUI in Kansas is considered a criminal offense. You could face a variety of penalties and thousands in fees, depending on your KS driving record and the nature of your DUI case.
If you are convicted or simply plead “guilty," the court and Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR) will enforce some or all of the following DUI penalties:
- A suspension of your KS driver's license.
- Substantial fines.
- Jail time.
- Completion of an alcohol and drug treatment program.
- Use of an ignition interlock device for a specified period of time.
If you refused a BAC test upon your arrest, you could face even higher fines and a longer driver's license suspension. Regardless, hiring a DUI attorney may help to get you the best outcome in your particular case.
For more information, please read our Kansas DUI/DWI page.
NOTE: If you're younger than 21 years old and convicted of your 1st offense, your KS driver's license will be suspended for 30 days and you'll have restricted driving privileges for 330 days following your license reinstatement.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!