Drivers Ed in KansasPage Overview
Driver’s Education in Kansas
If you’re a teenager applying for your first KS driver’s license, you’ll need to complete a Driver’s Ed course to satisfy the graduated driver’s license (GDL) laws for the Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR).
Regardless of your age, all new drivers should consider completing driver’s education. The course will help you become a better driver and may even waive some of your Kansas driver’s license testing requirements.
On this page you’ll find information about Kansas Driver’s Ed requirements and the steps you’ll need to take before you can get behind the wheel with your first driver’s license.
Driver’s education is required if you are younger than 16 years old.
You can start the Kansas GDL program by first obtaining a learner’s permit and enrolling in a Driver’s Ed course when you are at least 14 years old.
For more information about getting your learner’s permit, please visit our Drivers Permits in Kansas page.
Kansas driver’s education courses are provided by public schools and professional driving schools.
NOTE: At this time, the Kansas DMV DOES NOT ACCEPT online Driver’s Ed.
For a complete list of driver’s education schools, please visit the Kansas DOR website.
If you have questions about a specific program or Driver’s Ed in general, please contact:
- Kansas Department of Education:
- Phone: (785) 296-8107
- E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Division of Vehicles: (785) 296-6834
Once you shop around and choose a course, contact the provider for specific details on pricing and schedules.
Regardless of which program you choose to complete your KS driver’s education, you’ll learn about:
- Traffic laws and rules of the road.
- Safe driving.
- Operating a vehicle.
- Driving safely in different conditions, including highway traffic and bad weather.
Classroom & Behind-the-Wheel Hours
Your Kansas Driver’s Ed course will consist of both classroom sessions and behind-the-wheel training.
The classroom and in-car training schedules and total hours may vary by program, but your entire course will take at least 7 days to complete.
Contact your course provider for more information.
Once you complete your course, you will receive a completion certificate, which you can present to the Kansas DMV to satisfy your Driver’s Ed requirements.
If you present your Driver’s Ed completion certificate when applying for your learner’s permit, the Kansas DMV will waive the written test. However, you can choose to obtain your permit before completion of your driver education course, as long as you take and pass the written exam at the DMV.
NOTE: The behind-the-wheel training portion of your driver’s education will count towards your supervised driving requirements if your driving instructor is at least 21 years old.
If you’re a young driver, completing Driver’s Ed will put you one step closer to obtaining your first driver’s license. After completing your course, you can apply for your KS restricted driver’s license once you:
- Have held your learner’s permit for at least 1 year.
- Have logged at least 25 hours of supervised driving with a licensed driver.
- Turn 15 years old.
NOTE: Whenever you visit a Kansas DMV office, be prepared to present proof of your identity.
When you’re ready to take the next steps to getting your KS driver’s license, please see our pages on the following topics:
Local Drivers Education
- Driver's Permits in Kansas
- Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers)
- Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+)
Choose a County
Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸
- Kansas Department of Education: