Car Insurance in Kansas
Kansas Car Insurance
Kansas law requires you to be able to pay for damages and injuries suffered in a car accident that you cause. The best way to fulfill this legal requirement is by purchasing and maintaining the minimum required car insurance coverage.
Kansas Car Insurance Requirements
Kansas car insurance laws require you to have the following types of coverage:
- Personal injury protection (PIP).
- Uninsured and underinsured motorist.
Your car insurance policy must include liability coverage. This helps pay for costs related to bodily injury or property damage suffered by others in the event of a car accident you cause.
Your liability coverage must meet at least the following minimum limits per accident:
- $25,000 for bodily injury, per person.
- $50,000 for total bodily injury, if multiple people get hurt.
- $10,000 for property damage.
Personal Injury Protection
Kansas is considered a no-fault state.
This does not mean that fault is not considered after an accident. However, regardless of fault, your injuries after an accident will be covered by personal injury protection coverage before any other type of insurance coverage.
Your car insurance policy must include PIP at the following minimums per accident:
- $4,500 per person for medical costs.
- $900 per month for 1 year for disability and loss of income.
- $25 per day for in-home services.
- $2,000 for funeral, cremation or burial expenses.
- $4,500 for rehabilitation.
Uninsured motorist coverage helps pay for your injuries if hurt in an accident with an uninsured driver.
Underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for your injuries if you are hurt in a car accident with a driver whose liability insurance is insufficient.
In Kansas, you must have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage at the following minimum limits per accident:
- $25,000 for bodily injury, per person.
- $50,000 for total injuries if multiple people in your car are hurt.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage
While it may seem like the best idea for your finances to buy only the minimum required coverage, you might find that in the case of an accident, it’s simply not enough protection.
If you want more out of your Kansas car insurance policy, consider adding these common optional types of coverage:
- Collision – This coverage will help you with damages to your car resulting from a traffic accident.
- Comprehensive – This will help with damages to your car that may result from other events not involving a traffic collision.
- Towing and labor.
- Rental reimbursement.
NOTE: Collision and comprehensive coverages are often required as part of a car loan or lease agreement.
Car Insurance Violations
If you are caught violating Kansas’ car insurance laws, you face indefinite suspension of your driver’s license.
Kansas Automobile Insurance Plan
Car insurance companies in Kansas have the right to refuse coverage to drivers they deem are too high risk to cover. The Kansas Automobile Insurance Plan assists high-risk drivers with obtaining car insurance.
If 3 companies refuse you coverage, you are eligible to apply for car insurance through the plan. Contact any Kansas-licensed car insurance agent for information on how to apply.
Other Car Insurance Issues
The Kansas Insurance Department (KID) assists consumers with several issues concerning insurance. You can contact the department with consumer complaints and fraud reporting.
Before contacting the department with a car insurance complaint, you should first attempt to settle any dispute directly with your car insurance company.
If you cannot reach a resolution and wish to file a complaint, you can do so online at the KID website.
Insurance fraud causes significant financial losses to insurance companies every year. Those losses typically get passed down to you through increases in premiums.
Car insurance fraud often involves:
- Staging car accidents.
- Lying about injuries.
- Lying about car property damage.
You can help fight car insurance fraud by reporting any suspected car insurance fraud to the KID.
Visit the KID website for more information on how to report insurance fraud.
Determining Your Car Insurance Rates
There are several factors that go into determining your car insurance rates in Kansas.
As you compare car insurance quotes, keep in mind that the following can factor into your premium:
- Driving record.
- Claims history.
- Credit history.
- Age and gender.
- Marital status.
- Zip code.
- Your car’s:
- The amount you are responsible for paying before your insurance pays out.
- The higher your deductible, the lower your premium.
KS Car Insurance Discounts
A good way to save on Kansas car insurance is to take advantage of discounts.
When shopping for car insurance ask about these common car insurance discounts:
- Good student.
- Good driver.
- Anti-theft device.
- Safety device.
While it’s important to ask about discounts that might be available, the biggest determiner of your ability to obtain a cheap car insurance quote is a good driving record. Make sure you know what’s on it and that you practice safe driving to keep it clear of violations.
Most Stolen Cars in Kansas
Driving a car that is a commonly targeted for theft can mean having to pay a higher car insurance premium.
The following is a list of 2013's most stolen cars in Kansas according to www.nicb.org:
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size).
- Honda Accord.
- Ford Pickup.
- Honda Civic.
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size).
- GMC Pickup (Full Size).
- Chevrolet Pickup (Small Size).
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee.
- Dodge Caravan.
- Chevrolet Impala.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!