Boat Registration and Licenses in Kansas
Renew Your California Boat Registration Today!
Official California Boat Registration & Stickers Issued.
Overnight Delivery Available.
Renew your California Boat Registration online and Cartagz will instantly issue your official California registration and stickers.
California Boat Registration Online with CarTagz
- Saves you a trip to the DMV
- Helps you avoid late fees
- Offers next business day delivery
- Does not require a renewal notice
- Same Day E-Copy of Your New Registration Card.
Approved and contracted by the state, Cartagz provides a quick and easy alternative to standing in long lines at the DMV. For $29 (plus DMV fees), you can painlessly renew your registration in just a few simple steps.Page Overview
Kansas Boat Registration and Licensing
All boat registrations are processed by the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism.
NOTE: You must have your Certificate of Number aboard your watercraft at all times.
In Kansas, you will need to apply for registration if your boat is powered by:
This also includes personal watercraft and sailboats.
Non-resident boats currently registered in another state being used in Kansas for less than 60 consecutive days do not need to be registered.
In Kansas, you can register your boat either in person or by mail. Regardless of which option you choose, your paperwork requirements will vary depending on how you obtained your boat:
- Purchased from a dealer: Sales tax receipt or STD 8 tax form.
- Purchased from a private party: Bill of sale or registered owner's certificate marked as sold.
- Purchased from an out-of-state dealer: Bill of sale indicating sales tax paid (if you didn't pay the tax, do it at a county treasurer's office and get the receipt).
- Complete the Application for Certificate of Number Kansas Boating Act.
- Locate your sales tax receipt/bill of sale.
- Take the necessary paperwork and your registration fee to one of the following locations:
To register your boat by mail, you'll need to send your completed Application for Certificate of Number Kansas Boating Act, bill of sales/sales tax receipt, and fee payment to:
KDWP Operations Office
512 S.E. 25th Ave
Pratt, KS 67214
Boat Registration Fees in Kansas
All boats: $32.50
Boat registrations are valid for 3 years. Approximately 6 weeks before your registration expiration date, you'll receive a renewal notice.
Be sure to keep your registration address current by notifying the KDWP of any address changes.
Renew in Person
Simply go to one of the registration locations listed above with your renewal notice and fee payment.
Visit the renewal site. You'll need to have your hull ID and Kansas registration numbers to use the online system.
Pay your fee with your VISA, MasterCard, or American Express cards; there is a small convenience fee.
Replace Lost Registration
Replace a damaged or lost boat registration by sending a request in writing (along with the $12.50 payment) to:
Department of Wildlife and Parks
512 S.E. 25th Ave
Pratt, KS 67214
Anyone under 21 years old must complete an approved boater education course in order to operate a boat without direct supervision. No one under the age of 12 years old is allowed to operate a motorized boat without supervision. This applies even if they have taken a safety course.
Receive your boater education card by completing a course through one of the following methods:
Even if you're not required to take a class, these courses offer a good way to become a safer boater, and could reduce your insurance rates.
If you do not already carry insurance for your watercraft, you may want to take a few moments to read our page about Boat Insurance in Kansas.
Purchasing adequate insurance on your boat could protect you and your passengers if an accident ever happens.Other Topics in This Section