Drivers Ed in IndianaPage Overview
Driver's Education in Indiana
If you’re a teenager applying for your first driver’s license, you’ll need to complete driver’s education as part of the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles’ (BMV) licensing requirements.
Once you obtain your IN learner’s permit and begin your Driver’s Ed course, you’ll be able to start practicing your driving. Before you know it, you’ll have the knowledge and skills necessary to ace your DMV road test and obtain your first driver’s license.
On this page, you’ll find information about driver’s education courses in Indiana, your options to satisfy the requirements, and the next steps you need to take to obtain your unrestricted license.
If you are between 15 to 16 years old, you’ll need to take Driver’s Ed as one of the first steps in obtaining your Indiana driver’s license.
If you are 16 years old or older, you are not required to take a driver’s education course. However, it will better prepare you for the Indiana BMV road test.
You can enroll in and begin a driver’s education program when you are at least 15 years old. Once you are enrolled, get your Indiana learner’s permit by:
- Taking your Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment to your local IN BMV office.
- Passing the written test.
For more information, please see our Drivers Permits in Indiana page.
Driver’s Ed in Indiana is provided by approved, professional driver training schools. You also have the option of completing part of your course through an approved online Driver’s Ed provider.
After you’ve chosen a program, contact your course provider for specific details on pricing and schedules.
Your driver’s training program will consist of both classroom (or online) and behind-the-wheel segments. You’ll cover topics such as:
- Traffic laws and safety.
- Safe and responsible driving practices.
- Recognizing and responding to hazards.
- Operating a vehicle.
The lessons you’ll learn and the skills you’ll practice will help to prepare you for your DMV road test.
Classroom & Behind-the-Wheel Hours
Regardless of where and how you take your Indiana driver’s education course, the program must consist of:
- 30 hours of classroom or online sessions.
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
You’ll receive a proof of completion certificate when you complete each portion of your Driver’s Ed course.
In addition to satisfying your driver’s education requirements, before you can get your probationary driver’s license, you’ll need to:
- Complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving with a licensed driver who is at least 25 years old.
- Submit a completed Log of Supervised Driving Practice (Form 54706).
- Hold your IN learner’s permit for at least 180 days.
- Wait until you are at least 16 years old plus 180 days (around age 16 ½) to schedule your road test.
NOTE: If you waited until you were 16 years old to obtain your learner’s permit and did not take Driver’s Ed, you can take the road test and obtain your first driver’s license when you turn 16 years old plus 270 days (approximately age 16 and 9 months).
For further information on how to obtain your driver’s license, please see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Indiana page.Local Drivers Education
Choose a County
- De Kalb
Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
- La Porte
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸