- Location: Indiana
Drivers with Disabilities in IndianaCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) offers license plates and placards for customers with disabilities that limit their mobility, permanently or temporarily. Plates and placards are marked with the International Symbol of Access (wheelchair) and grant special parking privileges to those who hold them.
Placards and plates may be used on vehicles that are owned by people with disabilities, frequently operated by people with disabilities, or used to transport people with disabilities.
To be eligible to receive a disability license plate, or placard, you must have at least one of these conditions:
- Permanent disability that requires the use of a wheelchair, walker, braces or crutches.
- Permanent loss of the use of one or both legs.
- Permanent restriction due to a pulmonary or cardiovascular disability, arthritic condition, orthopedic condition or neurological impairment.
- Permanently blind or visually impaired as defined by state law in Indiana Code 12-7-2-21 or 12-7-2-198. This requires a practitioner's certification.
You don't need to have a practitioner's certification if you already have a permanent parking placard, a permanent disability that requires the use of a wheelchair, walker, braces, crutches or cane, or have permanently lost the use of one or both legs.
However, all others require a practitioner's certification on the Application for Disability Parking Placard or Disability Plate (State Form 42070).
To apply, simply bring your completed application to any license agency. Or, if you do not need certification, you can fill out the application at the license agency.
License Plate Fees
You will be able to receive two disability plates at no cost. The plates are good for use on passenger cars, recreational vehicles, motorcycles and trucks weighing less than 11,000 pounds. Of course, they must be legally registered in Indiana.
Corporations, partnerships, and unincorporated associations that operate programs for people with disabilities (including transportation) are also eligible for disability placards.
You can receive up to two placards at no cost if your disability is permanent. However, if you receive a temporary placard, there is a $5 fee. The same is true for replacement placards if they are lost, stolen, or damaged―there is a $5 fee.
If your disability is permanent, your placard expires on your birthday four years after the placard is issued. You can then apply for another one, and you do not have to have a physician's certification again.
If your disability is temporary, your placard will expire six months after it is issued, or the date that the physician indicated in the certification, whichever comes first.
If you operate a program or facility for disabled individuals, your placard expires on January 1, four years after it is issued. If your program or association ceases to operate within that period, the placard expires the date the program or association ceases.
You must display your placard on your vehicle's dashboard whenever you park in a space that is reserved for people with physical disabilities. If your vehicle has a disability license plate, a disabled veteran's plate, or an equivalent plate from another state, you don't have to display your placard.
If you lose your placard or it is stolen or damaged, simply go to any license agency and apply for a duplicate.
Indiana honors unexpired disability placards and plates from other states. Likewise, current Indiana placards and plates should be acceptable in other states. However, if you are traveling to another state and are concerned about whether your Indiana disability plate or placard will be accepted there, check with that state's motor vehicle department, or simply refer to our Drivers with Disabilities section for the state in question.
To obtain a disabled veteran's license plate, you will need to be certified as being eligible by the Indiana Department of Veterans Affairs, using State Form 32584. Your application must be approved by the VA Regional office, including the condition and rating.
You will be able to receive two disabled plates at no cost. The plates are good for use on passenger cars, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, and trucks under 11,000 pounds. Of course, they must be legally registered in Indiana.
If you park in a spot reserved for people with disabilities and you do not have a disability plate or placard, you risk receiving a fine of at least $50. It is a Class C misdemeanor under Indiana law.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸