Paperwork When Buying a Car in Indiana
Get detailed VIN History Report in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start a Search:
When you buy a car from a private party, the seller should sign the title, then give it to you.
- The title.
- The bill of sale from the seller or a receipt for your purchase, showing how much you paid for it.
- Proof of your insurance for the vehicle.
- Verification of your Social Security number.
You must title the car within 31 days of taking ownership.
When you purchase a new or used car through a dealership, they will complete all the paperwork and submit it for you.
The seller should give you the title when you purchase the car. If the seller does not have it, think twice about buying the car. Ask the seller where it is and if they can get it for you; they may need to request a duplicate title.
If you still want to buy the car, the seller must give you a 21-day affidavit stating that the seller will give you the title for the vehicle within 21 days of the date of sale.
If 21 days pass and there's still no title, write to the seller and ask them to give it to you, reminding them of the affidavit. The seller then has another 10 days to produce the title.
If the seller still doesn't respond, then you may return the vehicle. The car must be in about the same condition. The seller must then refund your money, including your insurance, taxes, and finance expenses.
The Bill of Sale is an important document to have in your possession. It serves as your proof of purchase and acts almost as a backup title. If you have difficulty in tracking down a copy, you can download a version of our Bill of Sale in a matter of seconds.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing