Accident Guide in Indiana
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
No one likes to think about being in an accident. But, unfortunately, it's a situation that you'll likely face, possibly numerous times. So, you should be aware of what Indiana law requires you to do if you are in an accident.
All drivers involved in an accident in which an injury, death, or property damage of over $1000 occurs must file a crash report within 10 days of the accident. If you've been hurt in the accident and can't fill out the form, any of your passengers or the vehicle owner may complete the form instead.
It's important to take this matter seriously, as failing to file the report is a misdemeanor and may result in the suspension or revocation of your license and registration. Also, if your answers are incomplete, you'll likely have to file an additional report.
If you had insurance coverage at the time of the accident, a representative from your insurance company must complete the top half of the form.
Send the completed report to:
- Bureau of Motor Vehicles
- PFR/Crash Report Section
- P.O. Box 7169
- Indianapolis, IN 46207
Even though you may be in a state of distress―or even shock―following the accident, it's important to take good notes. You're required to share your name, address, and registration number with those involved in the accident.
Of course, you should record this same information about the others involved in the accident for your own records. But, you shouldn't stop there. Try to obtain the phone numbers of everyone involved in the accident, as well as the license plate numbers and models of the other vehicles. Also make an attempt to learn the driver's license number and insurance information of the other driver(s).
If there are any witnesses, try and get their contact information, too. And, record the name of any law enforcement officials who arrive on the scene.
What should you do if you put a dent into someone's empty car while backing out of a parking space? For this and all other accidents involving an unoccupied vehicle, state law requires you to first try and see if you can locate the owner of the vehicle. If that's not possible, you must leave a note on an obvious spot on the damaged vehicle, indicating your name, address, and registration number.
If you're in an accident that damages someone's property (other than a vehicle), you're required to try to locate the owner or person in charge of the property. You must reveal your name, address, and registration number, and, if requested, your driver's license number.
If you can't find the owner after a reasonable attempt, then you must contact law enforcement officials with jurisdiction over the property, and give them all the required information.
Besides all of the above, state law places additional requirements on those involved in an accident.
It's a good idea to review these rules because failing to do so could result in a misdemeanor or felony charge.
Witnesses to an accident may be required to complete a report if requested to do so by the state police.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.