Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Illinois
Because accidents can cause such financial devastation, Illinois forces you to prove that you're capable of handling such costs before you hit the road by having a motorcycle insurance policy.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
You'll need to have liability motorcycle insurance to meet the state's requirements; no other method will do.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
If you're confused about whether your cycle qualifies as a motorcycle, contact the Secretary of State's office at (800) 252-8980.
Illinois Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
State law requires you to have liability insurance to help pay for any property damage of bodily injuries you might cause others in an accident for which you are found at fault.
Your insurance policy must include the following minimum coverage limits per accident:
- $25,000 of coverage for injuries to or death of one person in an accident.
- $50,000 of coverage for injuries to or deaths of more than one person in an accident.
- $20,000 of property damage coverage per accident.
Don't be fooled, though, that by meeting the state's insurance minimum levels that you have ample protection. Most financial professionals recommend having many times more coverage than this; learn why in our Types of Coverage section.
Premium costs are a big issue for many, of course. So, try to contain those costs by shopping around online (or by phone) to find the best rates and coverages.
As you get your motorcycle insurance quotes you may notice that by just purchasing the required liability coverages you are not sufficiently financially protected.
Purchasing optional coverages can help extend the reach of your motorcycle insurance. Some common optional coverages include:
- Collision- For repairs on your bike after an accident.
- Comprehensive - Damages from things such as fire or vandalism are covered through this.
- Medical payments - If you are hurt in an accident this coverage can help with medical costs.
- Towing and labor.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Some states lessen the financial responsibility requirements for cyclists who wear helmets when riding. Illinois doesn't follow this practice, and cyclists aren't required to wear a helmet.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Be sure to have the insurance card issued by your carrier with you whenever you're riding your cycle; you must show it to law enforcement officials upon request.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
What if you have no proof of motorcycle insurance when asked to provide it by a law enforcement official following an accident or traffic stop? Or, you can't provide it after you receive the insurance verification letter that's sent randomly to residents?
If you can't provide proof of current, acceptable insurance coverage within the timeframe specified by the state, your plates can be suspended. You'll then be forced to pay a fine, a reinstatement fee, and provide proof of insurance to have the suspension lifted. If you've committed this offense before, the suspension will last a minimum of four months.
While no one may drive your vehicle while its plates are suspended, you may drive another vehicle that's covered by insurance.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!