Accident Guide in Illinois
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
If you are involved in a traffic accident, take a few measures to ensure that everyone is safe. Stop your vehicle in a safe place, and then assist anyone who is injured and needs help. Cover the injured person with a blanket or coat to help prevent shock if they are hurt badly, but do not move that person. Moving could cause more damage.
Call 911 immediately.
Be sure to exchange information with all parties involved. You'll need to get names, addresses, insurance information, driver's license numbers, license plate numbers, and vehicle descriptions for all people and vehicles involved in the accident. You'll also want to take down the names, addresses, and phone numbers of any witnesses.
Each driver involved in an Illinois traffic accident must file a crash report if the accident caused a death, bodily injury, or more than $1,500 of property damage.
Many Illinois towns require law enforcement to work every accident, but if a police officer does not appear on the scene, you need to file a report with the local police department, sheriff's office, or Illinois State Police as soon as possible. If you aren't able to file the report due to injury, and you had a passenger, the passenger may file the report for you.
You must also file a report with the Illinois Department of Transportation no later than 10 days after the accident. You may pick up the required forms from a local insurance agent or law enforcement office.
Failure to File a Report
If you're involved in an accident that meets the crash reporting requirements but you fail to file a report, you could be hit with a $2,500 fine or up to a year in jail.
If you're involved in an accident and leave the scene, then you're considered a hit-and-run driver―and the penalties become much more severe.
There's a 30-minute window where you can report the accident and face only the penalties above, if you left the scene. If you leave the scene and more than 30 minutes elapse without you reporting the accident, however, then you face a $25,000 fine, up to three years in jail, the suspension of your driver's license if property damage is more than $1,000, and revocation of your license if the accident resulted in an injury or death.
If you are 55 years or older, you can possibly reduce your insurance rates by taking a driver's education course designed to help you avoid having an accident in the first place. Check out the AARP's Driver Safety page to find a course near you.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.