Suspended License in Idaho
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver's license, you can order a driving record report. This report will spell out if your license is currently valid. If your license has been suspended or revoked, it will be indicated according to the record at the DMV. The report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
A number of violations are so major that they enable a judge and the Idaho Transportation Department to bypass the point system, and suspend, disqualify, deny, cancel, refuse, or revoke your license. These include:
- Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Committing a felony using a motor vehicle.
- Fleeing the scene of an accident in which you caused property damage.
- Making false oral or written statements (while under oath) to the Transportation Department.
- Driving recklessly.
- Being convicted outside of state lines for an offense that would otherwise cause this state to suspend your license had it occurred on Idaho soil.
- Driving while your license is suspended.
- Failing to pay for damages when the law finds you responsible in an accident.
- Administrative suspension of your license: When you are tested for a DUI, you can have your license suspended if you fail a breath, blood, or urine test.
- Refusing to take a DUI test that may provide evidence that you are intoxicated.
- Not paying a fine when you have been convicted for an infraction. Less than a misdemeanor, an infraction can be as minor as a parking ticket.
- Trying to escape or elude a peace officer.
- Fleeing the scene of an accident that involves injury or death.
- Using a driver's license or ID card illegally.
- Lack of insurance for your motor vehicle.
- Underage violation involving alcohol such as possession, use, or procurement.
- Violation of restriction.
- Possessing marijuana or drug paraphernalia while under age.
- If you are a minor who has repeatedly missed school or you do not comply with school requirements, your school district can have the Idaho Transportation Department take action and suspend your license and privileges.
- If you fail to pay child support or if you fail to comply when it comes to either visitation rights or being subpoenaed for a paternity suit or child support hearing, any court (as well as the Department of Health and Welfare) can ask the Idaho Transportation Department to step in. This means you may face suspension of your license and privileges.
By setting strict penalties early on, Idaho tries to get the message out to drivers younger than 17 that safety comes first. Your first conviction for a moving traffic violation will only land you a warning letter spelling out the consequences and possible suspension if you continue to accumulate violations in the future.
Second convictions result in a 30-day suspension, and third convictions will cost you 60 days without driving privileges. For a young driver, that can feel like an eternity.
Note: The above-mentioned penalties take place in addition to a cancellation of the driving permit during the supervised instruction period. Therefore, all driving privileges become revoked.
All hope is not lost if the state suspends your driving privileges. If you need the use of your car to drive to and from work, for medical treatments, or for a similar reason, you may qualify for a restricted permit allowing you to do so. All reinstatement fees must be paid as well as a $35 fee.
A suspension by the department means you must consult the Idaho Transportation Department in Boise (see address below) to apply. If the court yanks your license, then you must apply for this special permit from the same court that convicted you.
- Idaho Transportation Department
- 3311 West State St.
- P.O. Box 7129
- Boise, ID 83707-1129
Once your suspension or revocation is complete, you must reapply for your license with the ITD in Boise. Reinstatement fees can cost anywhere from $25 to $285, depending on the details of the suspension.
Some serious offenses such as reckless driving and driving under the influence (DUI) require that you show proof that you can cover any financial obligations that you incur during an accident for three years.
If your license was suspended because you failed to carry insurance, you will find that the consequences are far more painful than actually obtaining liability insurance in the first place.
For starters, the state's no-insurance laws require you to provide proof of financial responsibility for one year if you are a first-time offender. The second time you violate these laws within a five-year period, the state requires you to provide proof of financial responsibility for three years.
For more information regarding matters such as these, contact the Boise office of the Idaho Transportation Department at (208) 334-8736.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.