Suspended CDL in Idaho
Commercial Driver License (CDL) Suspensions in Idaho
The Idaho Transportation Department regulates commercial drivers in the state according to federal standards outlined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
As well as offenses that might get your driver’s license suspended in Idaho, your CDL status can be disqualified for violating stricter laws.
Read more to learn about Idaho CDL suspensions, reinstatement, and fees.
As a CDL holder, you face the disqualification of your commercial driving privileges due to violations in the following categories:
- Major offenses.
- Serious offenses.
- Railroad crossing violations.
- Out-of-service offenses.
NOTE: You will have to notify your employer within 30 days if you are convicted of any traffic violation (except parking violations), regardless of whether you were driving a commercial vehicle (CMV) at the time.
You must also notify them if your license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled, or if your privileges to drive are disqualified.
Convictions of the following offenses will result in Idaho CDL disqualification, even if you were operating a private passenger vehicle at the time:
- DUI offenses:
- The legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in a CMV is 0.04%.
- Refusal to test for BAC (violating implied consent) will result in disqualification.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Negligently operating your CMV and causing a fatality as a result.
- Driving with a disqualified CDL.
- This can result in major fines and jail time.
- Felony related to the use of a motor vehicle.
- Felony for use of a commercial vehicle for the transportation of controlled substances.
- This is an automatic lifetime disqualification.
For most of these offenses, your ID CDL will be disqualified for the following terms:
- 1 year upon your 1st violation.
- 3 years if transporting hazardous materials at the time of the offense.
- Lifetime disqualification upon your 2nd violation.
Serious violations committed in a CMV can lead to the suspension of your commercial driving privileges and include:
- Excessive speeding.
- Reckless driving.
- Illegal passing.
- Improper or erratic lane changing.
- Following too closely.
- Violations of traffic laws (other than parking) that lead to a fatality.
- Driving a CMV without having obtained a CDL, without having it on you, or without obtaining the proper endorsements.
You face the following periods of CDL disqualification for serious offenses accumulated within 3 years:
- 60 days upon your 2nd offense.
- 120 days upon your 3rd offense.
Railroad-Highway Grade Crossing Offenses
CDL drivers in Idaho must make sure to cross railroad tracks as safely as possible. Railroad crossing violations include:
- Failure to slow down to ensure that tracks are clear.
- Failure to stop when tracks are not clear.
- Failure to stop before driving onto a crossing.
- Failure to obey a traffic control device or officer.
- Failure to ensure undercarriage clearance when crossing the tracks.
You face the following CDL disqualification penalties for the above violations:
- 1st violation: Minimum of 60 days.
- 2nd violation within 3 years: Minimum of 120 days.
- 3rd violation and any subsequent violations within 3 years: Minimum of 1 year.
Violating an out-of-service order will disqualify your Idaho CDL for:
- 90 days upon your 1st conviction.
- 180 days if transporting hazardous materials or driving a bus (vehicle designed to hold 16 passengers or more).
- 1 year upon your 2nd conviction.
- 3 years of transporting hazardous materials or driving a bus.
- 3 years for any subsequent offenses.
Check Your License Status
Because you absolutely must have a valid Idaho CDL if you drive a commercial vehicle for a living, it is always a good idea to keep up with your license status. You can do so by ordering and checking your Idaho driving record.
Your driving record is a history that includes your license status, traffic violations, accidents, and more.
You may be eligible for a hearing if your Idaho commercial driver’s license is disqualified due to:
- Refusal to test for blood alcohol concentration.
- Testing over the limit for blood alcohol concentration.
In the above cases, you have 7 days from your arrest to request a hearing with the IDT.
For questions, contact the IDT via e-mail at ITDDriverRecords@itd.idaho.gov or by phone at (208) 334-8736.
Once your suspension term has passed you can reinstate your Idaho CDL with the Department of Transportation. To reinstate your license, you may need to:
- Pay a reinstatement fee.
- Provide proof from the courts that you paid any fines imposed on you.
- Fulfill any other requirements imposed by the court.
- Reapply for a new ID CDL.
For more information about CDL reinstatement in Idaho, contact the IDT at (208) 334-8736.
As part of your commercial license reinstatement requirements, you may have to pay a reinstatement fee.
Fees are separate from court fines and penalties.
For more information about CDL reinstatement fees, contact the IDT at (208) 334-8736.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!