- Location: Idaho
Renewing Your License in Idaho
Renewing your driver license?
Perfect time to compare car insurance rates.
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
You must have a valid license to drive within the state, so be sure to keep track of when your license expires. You may renew your license up to one year before the expiration date.
If you're between 21-62 years old, you may choose to renew your license every four years ($30) or eight years ($55). If you're older than 62, you must renew in four-year cycles.
If you're between the ages of 18-20, your license expires when you turn 21. You can't renew before that point, and you only have five days after that to renew or your license will expire.
If you're between the ages of 15-17, your license expires when you turn 18. Again, you can't renew before that point, and you only have five days after that to renew or your license will expire.
Of course, you'll need to have auto insurance that meets the state's requirements, too. Visit our Insurance Center if you need to get insurance, or if you're looking for another provider.
Class D (standard) licenses must be renewed every four or eight years, depending upon the situation. (If you're a commercial driver, refer to our Renewing Your CDL page to learn about your circumstance.) While everyone may renew in person at a driver's license office, only some may renew by mail (see below).
If you're unsure about your license status, you can check it by obtaining a copy of your driving record.
While it's against the law to drive on an expired license, you have up to one year to renew your license without being forced to take the written and driving tests again. To renew your expired license, follow the same procedure as those with current licenses. If you're wondering about the status of your license, you can buy a copy of your driving record.
Suspended license issues can be complex. To help clarify matters, you can check on your license status at any time by purchasing a copy of your driving record. Because your insurance rates will likely go up, it's also a good idea to check our Insurance Center to find the most affordable rates for you.
Consult our Suspended License page to learn how to reinstate your license, and find out the fees you'll have to pay.
Those who need a replacement license should visit our Replacing a Lost License section to learn what to do.
If you're eligible to renew by mail, you'll receive a mail renewal application from the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) about 60 days before your license expiration date.
Even if you're eligible, you may still renew in person if you prefer. You don't need to bring any sort of renewal notice with you if renewing in person.
When it's time to renew your license, head to a a driver's license office with your current license and be prepared to:
- Take a vision test.
- Pay the appropriate fee.
The examiner may request that you take a skills test or undergo a medical examination before your license will be renewed.
With a few exceptions, only those between the ages of 21-69 who received a mail renewal application can renew their license by this method. And, if you decide to do so, you can only do it once every eight years.
To renew by this method:
- Complete the application form.
- Gather your fee payment.
- Send everything to the address listed on the form.
You'll receive either a validation sticker (to be placed on your current license) or a brand new license, depending on your situation. Those who renew by mail must pay an extra $1 fee.
Members of the Military
If you're an active member of the military, you may request a four-year extension for your expiring license. This also applies to your dependents. See our Drivers in the Military section for instructions.
Civilians Temporarily Out-of-State
Remember, you can renew your license up to one year in advance of its expiration date. But, if you're outside of Idaho when your license expires, you may request a 12-month extension of your license for $6.50. Contact the DMV at (208) 334-8735 for instructions.
After your extension runs out, you may request an additional 12-month extension by following the same process.
You can't renew your license online, so you'll need to do so in person or through the mail.
It can be a long time between license renewals, especially if you opt for the eight-year license. So, it's important to keep your driving knowledge and skills sharp. Completing a traffic school course is a smart way to accomplish this, and doing so may even save you money on your insurance premiums. Contact your provider to see if you qualify, or visit our Insurance Center and find carriers that offer the discount.Other Topics in This SectionArticles