- Location: Idaho
DMV Point System in IdahoCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
Here is how points are assigned for moving violations, according to Idaho Code. The statute violated is listed along with the section where it may be found in the State Statutes.
- Starting a parked vehicle (Code 49-603): 2 points
- Limitation on backing (Code 49-604): 1 point
- Drivers to exercise due care (Code 49-615): 3 points
- Driving through safety zone prohibited (Code 49-616): 2 points
- Operation of vehicles on approach of authorized emergency police vehicles(Code 49-625): 3 points
- Drive on right side of roadway―exceptions (Code 49-630): 3 points
- Passing vehicles proceeding in opposite directions (Code 49-631): 2 points
- Overtaking a vehicle on the left (Code 49-632): 3 points
- When passing on right is permitted (Code 49-633): 2 points
- Limitations on overtaking on the left (Code 49-634): 3 points
- Further limitations on driving on the left of the center of a highway (Code 49-635): 3 points
- One-way highways (Code 49-636): 1 point
- Driving on highways laned for traffic (Code 49-637): 1 point
- Following too closely (Code 49-638): 3 points
- Vehicle approaching or entering unmarked/uncontrolled intersection (Code 49-640): 3 points
- Vehicle turning left (Code 49-641): 3 points
- Vehicle entering highway (Code 49-642): 3 points
- Required position and method of turning (Code 49-644): 3 points
- Limitations on turning around (Code 49-645): 3 points
- Obedience to a signal indicating the approach of a train (Code 49-648): 4 points
- Compliance with stopping requirements at all railroad grades (Code 49-649) 4 points
- Emerging from an alley, driveway, or building (Code 49-651): 3 points
- Basic rule and maximum speed limits* (Code 49-654): 3 or 4 points
- Minimum speed regulation (Code 49-655): 3 points
- Special speed limitations* (Code 49-656): 3 or 4 points
- Construction danger zone speed limits (Code 49-657): 3 points
- Pedestrian's Right-of-way in a crosswalk (Code 49-702): 3 points
- Obedience to and required traffic control devices (Code 49-801): 3 points
- Traffic control signal legend (Code 49-802): 3 points
- Flashing signals (Code 49-804): 3 points
- Stop signs (Code 49-807(2)): 3 points
- Failure to yield―signed intersection (Code 49-807(3)): 3 points
- Turning movement and required signals (Code 49-808): 3 points
- Duty to give information in accident involving damage to a vehicle (Code 49-1302): 4 points
- Duty upon striking unattended vehicle (Code 49-1303): 4 points
- Duty upon striking fixtures upon, or adjacent to, a highway (Code 49-1304): 4 points
- Inattentive driving (Code 49-1401(3)): 3 points
- Obedience to traffic direction (Code 49-1419): 2 points
- Driving on divided highways (Code 49-1421(1)): 1 point
- Restricted access (Code 49-1421(2)): 1 point
- Overtaking and passing a school bus (Code 49-1422): 4 points
- Racing on public highways (Code 49-1424): 4 points
- Exhibition of speed (Code 49-1424): 4 points
- Excessive acceleration (Code 49-1424): 4 points
*If you go over the speed limit by one to 15 miles per hour, you'll get three points. If you go 16 mph over, then you are looking at four points.
The number of points alone may not seem so bad until you look at the penalty that goes along with them. If you accumulate 12 to 17 point in one year, you face a 30-day suspension of your driver's license. Eighteen to 23 points in two years will get you 90 days of a suspended license. Twenty-four or more points in three year's time will earn you a six-month suspension. You'll also have to pay for your mistake.
The DMV will keep you posted on the number of points you have accumulated by mailing you a warning letter when you have eight to 11 points in a year's time, 14 to 17 points within two years, and 20 to 23 points within three years. Most likely, if you have racked up this many points, you run a good chance of getting your license suspended.
But there's hope yet. Every three years, the state allows you to dissolve three of those points if you complete an approved defensive driving course.
These days, there are a variety of courses designed to fit your busy schedule, and often they are taught in a fun manner. Keep in mind that this is no longer an option for you if you are already in point trouble and your license has been suspended.
A number of violations are so major that they enable a judge and the Idaho Transportation Department to bypass the point system and suspend, disqualify, deny, cancel, refuse, or revoke your license. These include:
- Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Committing a felony using a motor vehicle.
- Fleeing the scene an accident in which you caused property damage.
- Making false oral or written statements (while under oath) to the Transportation Department.
- Driving recklessly.
- Being convicted outside of state lines for an offense that would otherwise cause this state to suspend your license had it occurred on Idaho soil.
- Driving while your license is suspended.
- Failing to pay for damages when the law finds you responsible in an accident.
- Administrative suspension of your license: When you are tested for a DUI, you can have your license suspended if you fail a breath, blood, or urine test.
- Refusing to take a DUI test that may provide evidence that you are intoxicated.
- Not paying a fine when you have been convicted of an infraction. Less than a misdemeanor, an infraction can be as minor as a parking ticket.
- Trying to escape or elude a peace officer.
- Fleeing the scene of an accident that involves injury or death.
- Using a driver's license or ID card illegally.
- Lack of insurance for your motor vehicle.
- Underage violation involving alcohol, such as possession, use, or procurement.
- Violation of restriction.
- Possessing marijuana or drug paraphernalia while under age.
- If you are a minor who has repeatedly missed school or do not comply with school requirements, your school district can have the Idaho Transportation Department take action, allowing it to suspend your license and privileges.
- If you fail to pay child support or if you fail to comply when it comes to either visitation rights or being subpoenaed for a paternity suit or child support hearing, any court (as well as the Department of Health and Welfare) can ask the Idaho Transportation Department to step in. This means you may face suspension of your license and privileges.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report.
Once you have paid your dues, meaning your time is up regarding suspension or revocation, you must reapply for your license with the Idaho Transportation Department in Boise. Reinstatement fees can cost anywhere from $15 to $180, depending on the details of the suspension.
Some serious offenses such as reckless driving and driving under the influence (DUI) require that you show proof that you can cover any financial obligations that you incur during an accident for three years.
If your license was suspended because you failed to carry insurance, you will find that the consequences are far more painful than actually obtaining liability insurance in the first place.
For starters, the state's no-insurance laws require you to provide proof of financial responsibility for one year if you are a first-time offender. The second time you violate these laws within a five-year period, the state will require you to provide proof of financial responsibility for three years.
For more information regarding matters like these, contact the Boise office of the Idaho Transportation Department at (208) 334-8736.